Skip to main content
5.9avg / 10

Richmond County Public Schools School District

School District · Warsaw, Virginia

Students: 1,374
Teachers (FTE): 93

Avg Rating

5.9

out of 10

Schools

2

1 elem, 1 high

Enrollment

1,374

Student-Teacher Ratio

14.8:1

How this district compares

Virginia rank

#78 of 131

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

-0.3

below Virginia avg

Per-pupil spending

$14,612

$457 vs Virginia median

District size

1,374 students

Smaller than Virginia median

Top-Rated Schools in Richmond County Public Schools

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (2 of 2). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Richmond County Elementary6.2 / 10
2Rappahannock High5.6 / 10

See all 2 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Richmond County Public Schools

Richmond County Public Schools is a Warsaw, Virginia school district serving 2 schools.The district educates 1,374 students with a student-teacher ratio of 14.8:1. District-level spending was $14,612 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 5.9/10, Richmond County Public Schools demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Richmond County Elementary, which has a composite score of 6.2/10.

In standardized testing, Richmond County Public Schools students show an average math proficiency of 74.2% and ELA proficiency of 76.9%.

The district includes 1 elementary school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Richmond County Public Schools, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency74.2%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency76.9%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Richmond County Public Schools with test data.

Schools in Richmond County Public Schools

2 schools

District Details

City
Warsaw
Total Enrollment
1,374
Teachers (FTE)
93
District spending per student
$14,612NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
17.9%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Richmond County Public Schools?

Richmond County Public Schools has 2 schools in total — 1 elementary, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Richmond County Public Schools?

The average composite rating for Richmond County Public Schools is 5.9/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Richmond County Public Schools?

Richmond County Public Schools's district-level spending was $14,612 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Richmond County Public Schools?

The average student-teacher ratio in Richmond County Public Schools is 14.8:1.

What is the top-rated school in Richmond County Public Schools?

Richmond County Elementary is the highest-rated school in Richmond County Public Schools with a composite score of 6.2/10.

What are the test scores in Richmond County Public Schools?

Across schools in Richmond County Public Schools with test data, the average math proficiency is 74.2% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 76.9%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
5.9/10
Math Proficiency
74.2%
ELA Proficiency
76.9%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Virginia Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.