Skip to main content
7.9avg / 10

York County Public Schools School District

School District · Yorktown, Virginia

Students: 12,726
Teachers (FTE): 2,434

Avg Rating

7.9

out of 10

Schools

19

10 elem, 4 mid, 5 high

Enrollment

12,726

Student-Teacher Ratio

5.2:1

How this district compares

Virginia rank

#10 of 131

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+1.6

above Virginia avg

Per-pupil spending

$13,844

$1,225 vs Virginia median

District size

12,726 students

Much larger than Virginia median

The short answer

York County Public Schools ranks #10 of 131 Virginia districts by overall school rating. York County Public Schools's schools with real test data average 7.9/10 across 19 schools. Its top-rated schools are Tabb Middle (9.1/10), Tabb High (8.8/10), and York High (8.8/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Best value · beats the odds
Grafton High

Rates 8.7/10 despite 43% of students being economically disadvantaged. That's about 1.0 points higher than its student-poverty level predicts. Roughly as clean a case of strong results without an affluent-ZIP price tag as you'll find among York County Public Schools schools.

Top-Rated Schools in York County Public Schools

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (19 of 19). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Tabb Middle9.1 / 10
2Tabb High8.8 / 10
3York High8.8 / 10
4Grafton High8.7 / 10
5Bruton High8.7 / 10
6Grafton Middle8.2 / 10
7Bethel Manor Elementary8.1 / 10
8Tabb Elementary8.0 / 10
9Queens Lake Middle8.0 / 10
10Seaford Elementary7.9 / 10

See all 19 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About York County Public Schools

York County Public Schools is a Yorktown, Virginia school district serving 19 schools.The district educates 12,726 students with a student-teacher ratio of 5.2:1. District-level spending was $13,844 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 7.9/10, York County Public Schools is among the strongest-performing districts in the state.

The highest-rated school in the district is Tabb Middle, which has a composite score of 9.1/10.

In standardized testing, York County Public Schools students show an average math proficiency of 85.0% and ELA proficiency of 88.1%.

The district includes 10 elementary schools, 4 middle schools, and 5 high schools.

District Map

Schools in York County Public Schools, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency85.0%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency88.1%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in York County Public Schools with test data.

District Details

City
Yorktown
Total Enrollment
12,726
Teachers (FTE)
2,434
District spending per student
$13,844NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
4.8%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in York County Public Schools?

York County Public Schools has 19 schools in total — 10 elementary, 4 middle, and 5 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for York County Public Schools?

The average composite rating for York County Public Schools is 7.9/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in York County Public Schools?

York County Public Schools's district-level spending was $13,844 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in York County Public Schools?

The average student-teacher ratio in York County Public Schools is 5.2:1.

What is the top-rated school in York County Public Schools?

Tabb Middle is the highest-rated school in York County Public Schools with a composite score of 9.1/10.

What are the test scores in York County Public Schools?

Across schools in York County Public Schools with test data, the average math proficiency is 85.0% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 88.1%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does York County Public Schools compare to other districts in Virginia?

York County Public Schools has an average school rating of 7.9/10 across 19 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Virginia by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
7.9/10
Math Proficiency
85.0%
ELA Proficiency
88.1%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Virginia Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.