Skip to main content
5.7avg / 10

Autauga County School District

School District · Prattville, Alabama

Students: 8,977
Teachers (FTE): 517
Estimated Scores: 17%

Avg Rating

5.7

out of 10

Schools

12

5 elem, 3 mid, 2 high

Enrollment

8,977

Student-Teacher Ratio

17.4:1

How this district compares

Alabama rank

#114 of 143

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

-0.6

below Alabama avg

Per-pupil spending

$11,214

$1,594 vs Alabama median

District size

8,977 students

Much larger than Alabama median

The short answer

Autauga County ranks #114 of 143 Alabama districts by overall school rating. Autauga County's schools with real test data average 5.7/10 across 10 schools. Its top-rated schools are Daniel Pratt Elementary School (7.5/10), Pine Level Elementary School (6.4/10), and Prattville Elementary School (6.4/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Best value · beats the odds
Daniel Pratt Elementary School

Rates 7.5/10 despite 54% of students being economically disadvantaged. That's about 1.7 points higher than its student-poverty level predicts. Roughly as clean a case of strong results without an affluent-ZIP price tag as you'll find among Autauga County schools.

Top-Rated Schools in Autauga County

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (10 of 12). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Daniel Pratt Elementary School7.5 / 10
2Pine Level Elementary School6.4 / 10
3Prattville Elementary School6.4 / 10
4Billingsley High School6.1 / 10
5Marbury Middle School5.8 / 10
6Prattville High School5.7 / 10
7Marbury High School5.2 / 10
8Prattville Intermediate School5.0 / 10
9Autaugaville School4.7 / 10
10Prattville Junior High School4.0 / 10

See all 12 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Autauga County

Autauga County is a Prattville, Alabama school district serving 12 schools.The district educates 8,977 students with a student-teacher ratio of 17.4:1. District-level spending was $11,214 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 5.7/10, Autauga County demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Daniel Pratt Elementary School, which has a composite score of 7.5/10.

In standardized testing, Autauga County students show an average math proficiency of 45.6% and ELA proficiency of 57.2%.

The district includes 5 elementary schools, 3 middle schools, and 2 high schools.

District Map

Schools in Autauga County, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency45.6%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency57.2%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Autauga County with test data.

District Details

State
Alabama
City
Prattville
Total Enrollment
8,977
Teachers (FTE)
517
District spending per student
$11,214NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
17.5%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Autauga County?

Autauga County has 12 schools in total — 5 elementary, 3 middle, and 2 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Autauga County?

The average composite rating for Autauga County is 5.7/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Autauga County?

Autauga County's district-level spending was $11,214 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Autauga County?

The average student-teacher ratio in Autauga County is 17.4:1.

What is the top-rated school in Autauga County?

Daniel Pratt Elementary School is the highest-rated school in Autauga County with a composite score of 7.5/10.

What are the test scores in Autauga County?

Across schools in Autauga County with test data, the average math proficiency is 45.6% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 57.2%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Autauga County compare to other districts in Alabama?

Autauga County has an average school rating of 5.7/10 across 12 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Alabama by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
5.7/10
Math Proficiency
45.6%
ELA Proficiency
57.2%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Alabama Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.