Skip to main content
4.0avg / 10

Union School Corporation School District

School District · Modoc, Indiana

Students: 7,855
Teachers (FTE): 312

Avg Rating

4.0

out of 10

Schools

5

2 elem, 3 high

Enrollment

7,855

Student-Teacher Ratio

25.2:1

How this district compares

Indiana rank

#289 of 292

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

-2.3

below Indiana avg

Per-pupil spending

$8,477

$3,885 vs Indiana median

District size

7,855 students

Much larger than Indiana median

The short answer

Union School Corporation ranks #289 of 292 Indiana districts by overall school rating. Union School Corporation's schools with real test data average 4.0/10 across 5 schools. Its top-rated schools are Union Elementary School (5.3/10), Indiana Digital Alternative School (4.7/10), and Union Junior & High School (3.8/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Most improved · 2022 → 2024
Union Elementary School

STAAR proficiency rose +4.9 points from 2022 to 2024. That's the biggest jump among Union School Corporation schools across the two most recent comparable testing years.

Top-Rated Schools in Union School Corporation

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (5 of 5). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Union Elementary School5.3 / 10
2Indiana Digital Alternative School4.7 / 10
3Union Junior & High School3.8 / 10
4Indiana Digital JR and High School3.3 / 10
5Indiana Digital Elementary3.1 / 10

See all 5 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Union School Corporation

Union School Corporation is a Modoc, Indiana school district serving 5 schools.The district educates 7,855 students with a student-teacher ratio of 25.2:1. District-level spending was $8,477 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 4.0/10, Union School Corporation demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Union Elementary School, which has a composite score of 5.3/10.

In standardized testing, Union School Corporation students show an average math proficiency of 20.3% and ELA proficiency of 26.5%.

The district includes 2 elementary schools, and 3 high schools.

District Map

Schools in Union School Corporation, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency20.3%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency26.5%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Union School Corporation with test data.

District Details

State
Indiana
City
Modoc
Total Enrollment
7,855
Teachers (FTE)
312
District spending per student
$8,477NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
29.2%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Union School Corporation?

Union School Corporation has 5 schools in total — 2 elementary, and 3 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Union School Corporation?

The average composite rating for Union School Corporation is 4.0/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Union School Corporation?

Union School Corporation's district-level spending was $8,477 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Union School Corporation?

The average student-teacher ratio in Union School Corporation is 25.2:1.

What is the top-rated school in Union School Corporation?

Union Elementary School is the highest-rated school in Union School Corporation with a composite score of 5.3/10.

What are the test scores in Union School Corporation?

Across schools in Union School Corporation with test data, the average math proficiency is 20.3% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 26.5%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Union School Corporation compare to other districts in Indiana?

Union School Corporation has an average school rating of 4.0/10 across 5 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Indiana by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
4.0/10
Math Proficiency
20.3%
ELA Proficiency
26.5%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Indiana Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.