Skip to main content
6.2avg / 10

Brushton-Moira Central School District

School District · Brushton, New York

Students: 791
Teachers (FTE): 77

Avg Rating

6.2

out of 10

Schools

2

1 high

Enrollment

791

Student-Teacher Ratio

10.3:1

How this district compares

New York rank

#398 of 615

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

-0.2

below New York avg

Per-pupil spending

$26,743

$1,037 vs New York median

District size

791 students

Smaller than New York median

Most improved · 2022 → 2024
Brushton Grade School

STAAR proficiency rose +12.0 points from 2022 to 2024. That's the biggest jump among Brushton-Moira Central School District schools across the two most recent comparable testing years.

Top-Rated Schools in Brushton-Moira Central School District

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (2 of 2). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Brushton Grade School6.9 / 10
2Brushton-Moira High School5.5 / 10

See all 2 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Brushton-Moira Central School District

Brushton-Moira Central School District is a Brushton, New York school district serving 2 schools.The district educates 791 students with a student-teacher ratio of 10.3:1. District-level spending was $26,743 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.2/10, Brushton-Moira Central School District demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Brushton Grade School, which has a composite score of 6.9/10.

In standardized testing, Brushton-Moira Central School District students show an average math proficiency of 40.7% and ELA proficiency of 34.3%.

The district includes 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Brushton-Moira Central School District, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency40.7%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency34.3%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Brushton-Moira Central School District with test data.

Schools in Brushton-Moira Central School District

2 schools

District Details

City
Brushton
Total Enrollment
791
Teachers (FTE)
77
District spending per student
$26,743NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
18.9%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Brushton-Moira Central School District?

Brushton-Moira Central School District has 2 schools in total — 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Brushton-Moira Central School District?

The average composite rating for Brushton-Moira Central School District is 6.2/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Brushton-Moira Central School District?

Brushton-Moira Central School District's district-level spending was $26,743 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Brushton-Moira Central School District?

The average student-teacher ratio in Brushton-Moira Central School District is 10.3:1.

What is the top-rated school in Brushton-Moira Central School District?

Brushton Grade School is the highest-rated school in Brushton-Moira Central School District with a composite score of 6.9/10.

What are the test scores in Brushton-Moira Central School District?

Across schools in Brushton-Moira Central School District with test data, the average math proficiency is 40.7% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 34.3%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.2/10
Math Proficiency
40.7%
ELA Proficiency
34.3%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, New York State Education Dept., and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.