Skip to main content
7.3avg / 10

Ogdensburg City School District

School District · Ogdensburg, New York

Students: 1,420
Teachers (FTE): 139

Avg Rating

7.3

out of 10

Schools

3

2 elem, 1 high

Enrollment

1,420

Student-Teacher Ratio

10.2:1

How this district compares

New York rank

#147 of 615

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+0.9

above New York avg

Per-pupil spending

$31,795

+$4,015 vs New York median

District size

1,420 students

Typical than New York median

The short answer

Ogdensburg City School District ranks #147 of 615 New York districts by overall school rating. Ogdensburg City School District's schools with real test data average 7.3/10 across 3 schools. Its top-rated schools are Madill School (8.1/10), John F Kennedy School (7.6/10), and Ogdensburg Free Academy (6.2/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Most improved · 2022 → 2024
John F Kennedy School

STAAR proficiency rose +6.5 points from 2022 to 2024. That's the biggest jump among Ogdensburg City School District schools across the two most recent comparable testing years.

Top-Rated Schools in Ogdensburg City School District

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (3 of 3). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Madill School8.1 / 10
2John F Kennedy School7.6 / 10
3Ogdensburg Free Academy6.2 / 10

See all 3 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Ogdensburg City School District

Ogdensburg City School District is a Ogdensburg, New York school district serving 3 schools.The district educates 1,420 students with a student-teacher ratio of 10.2:1. District-level spending was $31,795 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 7.3/10, Ogdensburg City School District is among the strongest-performing districts in the state.

The highest-rated school in the district is Madill School, which has a composite score of 8.1/10.

In standardized testing, Ogdensburg City School District students show an average math proficiency of 45.9% and ELA proficiency of 43.5%.

The district includes 2 elementary schools, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Ogdensburg City School District, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency45.9%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency43.5%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Ogdensburg City School District with test data.

Schools in Ogdensburg City School District

3 schools

District Details

City
Ogdensburg
Total Enrollment
1,420
Teachers (FTE)
139
District spending per student
$31,795NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
17.8%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Ogdensburg City School District?

Ogdensburg City School District has 3 schools in total — 2 elementary, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Ogdensburg City School District?

The average composite rating for Ogdensburg City School District is 7.3/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Ogdensburg City School District?

Ogdensburg City School District's district-level spending was $31,795 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Ogdensburg City School District?

The average student-teacher ratio in Ogdensburg City School District is 10.2:1.

What is the top-rated school in Ogdensburg City School District?

Madill School is the highest-rated school in Ogdensburg City School District with a composite score of 8.1/10.

What are the test scores in Ogdensburg City School District?

Across schools in Ogdensburg City School District with test data, the average math proficiency is 45.9% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 43.5%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Ogdensburg City School District compare to other districts in New York?

Ogdensburg City School District has an average school rating of 7.3/10 across 3 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in New York by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
7.3/10
Math Proficiency
45.9%
ELA Proficiency
43.5%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, New York State Education Dept., and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.