Skip to main content
5.4avg / 10

Dayton City School District

School District · Dayton, Ohio

Students: 12,441
Teachers (FTE): 848
Estimated Scores: 4%

Avg Rating

5.4

out of 10

Schools

28

15 elem, 3 mid, 8 high

Enrollment

12,441

Student-Teacher Ratio

14.7:1

How this district compares

Ohio rank

#543 of 613

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

-0.8

below Ohio avg

Per-pupil spending

$21,177

+$6,520 vs Ohio median

District size

12,441 students

Much larger than Ohio median

The short answer

Dayton City ranks #543 of 613 Ohio districts by overall school rating. Dayton City's schools with real test data average 5.3/10 across 26 schools. Its top-rated schools are Belle Haven Elementary School (7.9/10), Stivers School for the Arts (7.0/10), and Ruskin Elementary School (7.0/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in Dayton City

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (26 of 28). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Belle Haven Elementary School7.9 / 10
2Stivers School for the Arts7.0 / 10
3Ruskin Elementary School7.0 / 10
4Westwood Elementary School6.8 / 10
5Louise Troy Elementary School6.7 / 10
6Cleveland Elementary School6.6 / 10
7River's Edge Montessori Elementary School6.1 / 10
8Charity Adams Earley Girls Academy6.0 / 10
9David H. Ponitz Career Technology Center5.9 / 10
10Kiser Elementary School5.8 / 10

See all 28 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Dayton City

Dayton City is a Dayton, Ohio school district serving 28 schools.The district educates 12,441 students with a student-teacher ratio of 14.7:1. District-level spending was $21,177 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 5.4/10, Dayton City demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Belle Haven Elementary School, which has a composite score of 7.9/10.

In standardized testing, Dayton City students show an average math proficiency of 25.5% and ELA proficiency of 34.2%.

The district includes 15 elementary schools, 3 middle schools, and 8 high schools.

District Map

Schools in Dayton City, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency25.5%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency34.2%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Dayton City with test data.

District Details

State
Ohio
City
Dayton
Total Enrollment
12,441
Teachers (FTE)
848
District spending per student
$21,177NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
32.9%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Dayton City?

Dayton City has 28 schools in total — 15 elementary, 3 middle, and 8 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Dayton City?

The average composite rating for Dayton City is 5.4/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Dayton City?

Dayton City's district-level spending was $21,177 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Dayton City?

The average student-teacher ratio in Dayton City is 14.7:1.

What is the top-rated school in Dayton City?

Belle Haven Elementary School is the highest-rated school in Dayton City with a composite score of 7.9/10.

What are the test scores in Dayton City?

Across schools in Dayton City with test data, the average math proficiency is 25.5% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 34.2%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Dayton City compare to other districts in Ohio?

Dayton City has an average school rating of 5.4/10 across 28 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Ohio by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
5.4/10
Math Proficiency
25.5%
ELA Proficiency
34.2%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Ohio Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.