Skip to main content
6.4avg / 10

Olentangy Local School District

School District · Lewis Center, Ohio

Students: 23,806
Teachers (FTE): 1,217
Estimated Scores: 4%

Avg Rating

6.4

out of 10

Schools

27

16 elem, 5 mid, 4 high

Enrollment

23,806

Student-Teacher Ratio

19.6:1

How this district compares

Ohio rank

#343 of 613

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+0.2

above Ohio avg

Per-pupil spending

$13,848

$809 vs Ohio median

District size

23,806 students

Much larger than Ohio median

The short answer

Olentangy Local ranks #343 of 613 Ohio districts by overall school rating. Olentangy Local's schools with real test data average 6.4/10 across 25 schools. Its top-rated schools are Olentangy Liberty High School (7.8/10), Orange High School (7.6/10), and Olentangy High School (7.6/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Best value · beats the odds
Olentangy Liberty High School

Rates 7.8/10 despite 8% of students being economically disadvantaged. That's about 1.3 points higher than its student-poverty level predicts. Roughly as clean a case of strong results without an affluent-ZIP price tag as you'll find among Olentangy Local schools.

Top-Rated Schools in Olentangy Local

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (25 of 27). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Olentangy Liberty High School7.8 / 10
2Orange High School7.6 / 10
3Olentangy High School7.6 / 10
4Alum Creek Elementary School7.2 / 10
5Olentangy Berlin High School7.1 / 10
6Freedom Trail Elementary6.9 / 10
7Olentangy Orange Middle School6.7 / 10
8Indian Springs Elementary6.7 / 10
9Olentangy Liberty Middle School6.6 / 10
10Berkshire Middle School6.6 / 10

See all 27 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Olentangy Local

Olentangy Local School District serves 23,806 students across 28 schools in Ohio. Of those 28 schools, 26 carry published rankings — a coverage rate that gives parents a reliable picture of nearly every building in the system before they commit to a neighborhood.

The district's 26 ranked schools average 8.0 out of 10, a mark that points to broad, consistent performance across grade levels. Hyatts Middle School leads the district with a 9.1, the top score among all 28 schools. That a middle school holds the district's peak is notable: middle grades are where academic momentum often slips, and a 9.1 at that level signals the district manages the transition well.

The elementary tier is equally strong. Scioto Ridge Elementary scores a 9.0, and both Indian Springs Elementary and Freedom Trail Elementary post 8.7s. A district where three elementary schools land above 8.5 gives families multiple solid entry points — parents don't have to chase a single flagship building. Olentangy Orange Middle School adds a second high-performing middle option at 8.8, reinforcing the pattern across grade levels rather than concentrating strength in one corner of the district.

What the numbers make clear is that Olentangy Local's quality doesn't cluster at the top and fade. With 26 ranked schools averaging 8.0 and the highest score at 9.1, the spread between the district mean and the peak is roughly one point. In systems where a 9.1-rated school sits above a district average near 6.5, school assignment becomes a high-stakes decision for families. Here, the floor is high enough that most address choices carry limited academic risk. For parents comparing districts, that consistency is worth as much as any individual school's score.

District Map

Schools in Olentangy Local, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency86.4%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency88.5%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Olentangy Local with test data.

District Details

State
Ohio
City
Lewis Center
Total Enrollment
23,806
Teachers (FTE)
1,217
District spending per student
$13,848NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
2.6%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Olentangy Local?

Olentangy Local has 27 schools in total — 16 elementary, 5 middle, and 4 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Olentangy Local?

The average composite rating for Olentangy Local is 6.4/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Olentangy Local?

Olentangy Local's district-level spending was $13,848 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Olentangy Local?

The average student-teacher ratio in Olentangy Local is 19.6:1.

What is the top-rated school in Olentangy Local?

Olentangy Liberty High School is the highest-rated school in Olentangy Local with a composite score of 7.8/10.

What are the test scores in Olentangy Local?

Across schools in Olentangy Local with test data, the average math proficiency is 86.4% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 88.5%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Olentangy Local compare to other districts in Ohio?

Olentangy Local has an average school rating of 6.4/10 across 27 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Ohio by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.4/10
Math Proficiency
86.4%
ELA Proficiency
88.5%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Ohio Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.