Skip to main content
5.6avg / 10

Lakota Local School District

School District · Liberty Township, Ohio

Students: 17,887
Teachers (FTE): 684
Estimated Scores: 19%

Avg Rating

5.6

out of 10

Schools

22

14 elem, 4 mid, 3 high

Enrollment

17,887

Student-Teacher Ratio

26.2:1

How this district compares

Ohio rank

#508 of 613

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

-0.6

below Ohio avg

Per-pupil spending

$12,068

$2,589 vs Ohio median

District size

17,887 students

Much larger than Ohio median

The short answer

Lakota Local ranks #508 of 613 Ohio districts by overall school rating. Lakota Local's schools with real test data average 5.9/10 across 17 schools. Its top-rated schools are Lakota East High School (7.5/10), Lakota West High School (6.9/10), and Cherokee Elementary School (6.8/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Best value · beats the odds
Lakota Ridge Junior School

Rates 6.8/10 despite 44% of students being economically disadvantaged. That's about 1.5 points higher than its student-poverty level predicts. Roughly as clean a case of strong results without an affluent-ZIP price tag as you'll find among Lakota Local schools.

Top-Rated Schools in Lakota Local

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (17 of 22). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Lakota East High School7.5 / 10
2Lakota West High School6.9 / 10
3Cherokee Elementary School6.8 / 10
4Liberty Junior School6.8 / 10
5Lakota Ridge Junior School6.8 / 10
6Union Elementary School6.5 / 10
7Adena Elementary School6.4 / 10
8Vangorden Elementary School6.3 / 10
9Hopewell Junior School6.1 / 10
10Endeavor Elementary School6.0 / 10

See all 22 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Lakota Local

Lakota Local is a Liberty Township, Ohio school district serving 22 schools.The district educates 17,887 students with a student-teacher ratio of 26.2:1. District-level spending was $12,068 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 5.6/10, Lakota Local demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Lakota East High School, which has a composite score of 7.5/10.

In standardized testing, Lakota Local students show an average math proficiency of 78.4% and ELA proficiency of 79.4%.

The district includes 14 elementary schools, 4 middle schools, and 3 high schools.

District Map

Schools in Lakota Local, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency78.4%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency79.4%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Lakota Local with test data.

District Details

State
Ohio
City
Liberty Township
Total Enrollment
17,887
Teachers (FTE)
684
District spending per student
$12,068NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
8.2%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Lakota Local?

Lakota Local has 22 schools in total — 14 elementary, 4 middle, and 3 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Lakota Local?

The average composite rating for Lakota Local is 5.6/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Lakota Local?

Lakota Local's district-level spending was $12,068 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Lakota Local?

The average student-teacher ratio in Lakota Local is 26.2:1.

What is the top-rated school in Lakota Local?

Lakota East High School is the highest-rated school in Lakota Local with a composite score of 7.5/10.

What are the test scores in Lakota Local?

Across schools in Lakota Local with test data, the average math proficiency is 78.4% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 79.4%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Lakota Local compare to other districts in Ohio?

Lakota Local has an average school rating of 5.6/10 across 22 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Ohio by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
5.6/10
Math Proficiency
78.4%
ELA Proficiency
79.4%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Ohio Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.