Skip to main content
6.6avg / 10

Salt Lake District School District

School District · Salt Lake City, Utah

Students: 19,477
Teachers (FTE): 1,138
Estimated Scores: 3%

Avg Rating

6.6

out of 10

Schools

38

27 elem, 5 mid, 5 high

Enrollment

19,477

Student-Teacher Ratio

17.1:1

How this district compares

Utah rank

#29 of 58

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+0.2

above Utah avg

Per-pupil spending

$13,819

+$2,551 vs Utah median

District size

19,477 students

Much larger than Utah median

The short answer

Salt Lake District ranks #29 of 58 Utah districts by overall school rating. Salt Lake District's schools with real test data average 6.6/10 across 37 schools. Its top-rated schools are Dilworth School (9.6/10), Emerson School (9.4/10), and Highland Park School (9.2/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Best value · beats the odds
Edison School

Rates 8.4/10 despite 99% of students being economically disadvantaged. That's about 3.1 points higher than its student-poverty level predicts. Roughly as clean a case of strong results without an affluent-ZIP price tag as you'll find among Salt Lake District schools.

Top-Rated Schools in Salt Lake District

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (37 of 38). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Dilworth School9.6 / 10
2Emerson School9.4 / 10
3Highland Park School9.2 / 10
4Clayton Middle9.1 / 10
5Uintah School8.7 / 10
6Edison School8.4 / 10
7Bonneville School8.3 / 10
8Indian Hills School8.2 / 10
9Ensign School8.2 / 10
10Mountain View School8.0 / 10

See all 38 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Salt Lake District

Salt Lake District is a Salt Lake City, Utah school district serving 38 schools.The district educates 19,477 students with a student-teacher ratio of 17.1:1. District-level spending was $13,819 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.6/10, Salt Lake District demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Dilworth School, which has a composite score of 9.6/10.

In standardized testing, Salt Lake District students show an average math proficiency of 47.5% and ELA proficiency of 49.5%.

The district includes 27 elementary schools, 5 middle schools, and 5 high schools.

District Map

Schools in Salt Lake District, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency47.5%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency49.5%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Salt Lake District with test data.

District Details

State
Utah
City
Salt Lake City
Total Enrollment
19,477
Teachers (FTE)
1,138
District spending per student
$13,819NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
9.6%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Salt Lake District?

Salt Lake District has 38 schools in total — 27 elementary, 5 middle, and 5 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Salt Lake District?

The average composite rating for Salt Lake District is 6.6/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Salt Lake District?

Salt Lake District's district-level spending was $13,819 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Salt Lake District?

The average student-teacher ratio in Salt Lake District is 17.1:1.

What is the top-rated school in Salt Lake District?

Dilworth School is the highest-rated school in Salt Lake District with a composite score of 9.6/10.

What are the test scores in Salt Lake District?

Across schools in Salt Lake District with test data, the average math proficiency is 47.5% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 49.5%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Salt Lake District compare to other districts in Utah?

Salt Lake District has an average school rating of 6.6/10 across 38 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Utah by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.6/10
Math Proficiency
47.5%
ELA Proficiency
49.5%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Utah Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.