Skip to main content
3.6avg / 10

Ashtabula Area City School District

School District · Ashtabula, Ohio

Students: 2,883
Teachers (FTE): 150

Avg Rating

3.6

out of 10

Schools

7

3 elem, 2 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

2,883

Student-Teacher Ratio

19.2:1

How this district compares

Ohio rank

#613 of 613

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

-2.6

below Ohio avg

Per-pupil spending

$16,337

+$1,680 vs Ohio median

District size

2,883 students

Larger than Ohio median

The short answer

Ashtabula Area City ranks #613 of 613 Ohio districts by overall school rating. Ashtabula Area City's schools with real test data average 3.6/10 across 7 schools. Its top-rated schools are Lakeside High School (4.7/10), Ontario Primary School (4.0/10), and Huron Primary School (3.8/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in Ashtabula Area City

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (7 of 7). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Lakeside High School4.7 / 10
2Ontario Primary School4.0 / 10
3Huron Primary School3.8 / 10
4Lakeside Junior High School3.6 / 10
5Superior Intermediate School3.6 / 10
6Michigan Primary School3.0 / 10
7Erie Intermediate School2.7 / 10

See all 7 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Ashtabula Area City

Ashtabula Area City is a Ashtabula, Ohio school district serving 7 schools.The district educates 2,883 students with a student-teacher ratio of 19.2:1. District-level spending was $16,337 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 3.6/10, Ashtabula Area City has schools with varying levels of academic achievement.

The highest-rated school in the district is Lakeside High School, which has a composite score of 4.7/10.

In standardized testing, Ashtabula Area City students show an average math proficiency of 47.3% and ELA proficiency of 53.0%.

The district includes 3 elementary schools, 2 middle schools, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Ashtabula Area City, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency47.3%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency53.0%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Ashtabula Area City with test data.

District Details

State
Ohio
City
Ashtabula
Total Enrollment
2,883
Teachers (FTE)
150
District spending per student
$16,337NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
28.7%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Ashtabula Area City?

Ashtabula Area City has 7 schools in total — 3 elementary, 2 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Ashtabula Area City?

The average composite rating for Ashtabula Area City is 3.6/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Ashtabula Area City?

Ashtabula Area City's district-level spending was $16,337 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Ashtabula Area City?

The average student-teacher ratio in Ashtabula Area City is 19.2:1.

What is the top-rated school in Ashtabula Area City?

Lakeside High School is the highest-rated school in Ashtabula Area City with a composite score of 4.7/10.

What are the test scores in Ashtabula Area City?

Across schools in Ashtabula Area City with test data, the average math proficiency is 47.3% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 53.0%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Ashtabula Area City compare to other districts in Ohio?

Ashtabula Area City has an average school rating of 3.6/10 across 7 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Ohio by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
3.6/10
Math Proficiency
47.3%
ELA Proficiency
53.0%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Ohio Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.