Skip to main content
6.0avg / 10

Berkshire Local School District

School District · Burton, Ohio

Students: 1,370
Teachers (FTE): 66

Avg Rating

6.0

out of 10

Schools

3

1 elem, 1 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

1,370

Student-Teacher Ratio

20.8:1

How this district compares

Ohio rank

#422 of 613

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

-0.2

below Ohio avg

Per-pupil spending

$14,150

$507 vs Ohio median

District size

1,370 students

Typical than Ohio median

The short answer

Berkshire Local ranks #422 of 613 Ohio districts by overall school rating. Berkshire Local's schools with real test data average 6.0/10 across 3 schools. Its top-rated schools are Berkshire High School (7.1/10), Berkshire Elementary (6.1/10), and Berkshire Middle School (4.9/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in Berkshire Local

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (3 of 3). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Berkshire High School7.1 / 10
2Berkshire Elementary6.1 / 10
3Berkshire Middle School4.9 / 10

See all 3 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Berkshire Local

Berkshire Local is a Burton, Ohio school district serving 3 schools.The district educates 1,370 students with a student-teacher ratio of 20.8:1. District-level spending was $14,150 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.0/10, Berkshire Local demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Berkshire High School, which has a composite score of 7.1/10.

In standardized testing, Berkshire Local students show an average math proficiency of 64.5% and ELA proficiency of 69.4%.

The district includes 1 elementary school, 1 middle school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Berkshire Local, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency64.5%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency69.4%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Berkshire Local with test data.

Schools in Berkshire Local

3 schools

District Details

State
Ohio
City
Burton
Total Enrollment
1,370
Teachers (FTE)
66
District spending per student
$14,150NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
5.8%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Berkshire Local?

Berkshire Local has 3 schools in total — 1 elementary, 1 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Berkshire Local?

The average composite rating for Berkshire Local is 6.0/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Berkshire Local?

Berkshire Local's district-level spending was $14,150 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Berkshire Local?

The average student-teacher ratio in Berkshire Local is 20.8:1.

What is the top-rated school in Berkshire Local?

Berkshire High School is the highest-rated school in Berkshire Local with a composite score of 7.1/10.

What are the test scores in Berkshire Local?

Across schools in Berkshire Local with test data, the average math proficiency is 64.5% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 69.4%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Berkshire Local compare to other districts in Ohio?

Berkshire Local has an average school rating of 6.0/10 across 3 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Ohio by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.0/10
Math Proficiency
64.5%
ELA Proficiency
69.4%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Ohio Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.