Skip to main content
5.9avg / 10

Big Walnut Local School District

School District · Sunbury, Ohio

Students: 4,280
Teachers (FTE): 223
Estimated Scores: 13%

Avg Rating

5.9

out of 10

Schools

8

4 elem, 2 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

4,280

Student-Teacher Ratio

19.2:1

How this district compares

Ohio rank

#455 of 613

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

-0.3

below Ohio avg

Per-pupil spending

$12,454

$2,203 vs Ohio median

District size

4,280 students

Much larger than Ohio median

The short answer

Big Walnut Local ranks #455 of 613 Ohio districts by overall school rating. Big Walnut Local's schools with real test data average 6.0/10 across 7 schools. Its top-rated schools are Big Walnut Intermediate School (7.1/10), Big Walnut Middle School (6.8/10), and General Rosecrans Elementary (6.6/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in Big Walnut Local

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (7 of 8). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Big Walnut Intermediate School7.1 / 10
2Big Walnut Middle School6.8 / 10
3General Rosecrans Elementary6.6 / 10
4Big Walnut High School6.5 / 10
5Prairie Run Elementary School5.9 / 10
6Hylen Souders Elementary School4.6 / 10
7Big Walnut Elementary School4.5 / 10

See all 8 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Big Walnut Local

Big Walnut Local is a Sunbury, Ohio school district serving 8 schools.The district educates 4,280 students with a student-teacher ratio of 19.2:1. District-level spending was $12,454 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 5.9/10, Big Walnut Local demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Big Walnut Intermediate School, which has a composite score of 7.1/10.

In standardized testing, Big Walnut Local students show an average math proficiency of 76.5% and ELA proficiency of 79.8%.

The district includes 4 elementary schools, 2 middle schools, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Big Walnut Local, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency76.5%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency79.8%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Big Walnut Local with test data.

District Details

State
Ohio
City
Sunbury
Total Enrollment
4,280
Teachers (FTE)
223
District spending per student
$12,454NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
3.4%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Big Walnut Local?

Big Walnut Local has 8 schools in total — 4 elementary, 2 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Big Walnut Local?

The average composite rating for Big Walnut Local is 5.9/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Big Walnut Local?

Big Walnut Local's district-level spending was $12,454 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Big Walnut Local?

The average student-teacher ratio in Big Walnut Local is 19.2:1.

What is the top-rated school in Big Walnut Local?

Big Walnut Intermediate School is the highest-rated school in Big Walnut Local with a composite score of 7.1/10.

What are the test scores in Big Walnut Local?

Across schools in Big Walnut Local with test data, the average math proficiency is 76.5% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 79.8%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Big Walnut Local compare to other districts in Ohio?

Big Walnut Local has an average school rating of 5.9/10 across 8 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Ohio by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
5.9/10
Math Proficiency
76.5%
ELA Proficiency
79.8%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Ohio Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.