Skip to main content
7.1avg / 10

Brown Local School District

School District · Malvern, Ohio

Students: 576
Teachers (FTE): 50

Avg Rating

7.1

out of 10

Schools

3

1 elem, 1 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

576

Student-Teacher Ratio

11.5:1

How this district compares

Ohio rank

#137 of 613

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+0.9

above Ohio avg

Per-pupil spending

$17,034

+$2,377 vs Ohio median

District size

576 students

Smaller than Ohio median

The short answer

Brown Local ranks #137 of 613 Ohio districts by overall school rating. Brown Local's schools with real test data average 7.1/10 across 3 schools. Its top-rated schools are Malvern High School (8.5/10), Malvern Elementary School (7.8/10), and Malvern Middle School (5.1/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in Brown Local

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (3 of 3). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Malvern High School8.5 / 10
2Malvern Elementary School7.8 / 10
3Malvern Middle School5.1 / 10

See all 3 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Brown Local

Brown Local is a Malvern, Ohio school district serving 3 schools.The district educates 576 students with a student-teacher ratio of 11.5:1. District-level spending was $17,034 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 7.1/10, Brown Local is among the strongest-performing districts in the state.

The highest-rated school in the district is Malvern High School, which has a composite score of 8.5/10.

In standardized testing, Brown Local students show an average math proficiency of 56.4% and ELA proficiency of 65.9%.

The district includes 1 elementary school, 1 middle school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Brown Local, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency56.4%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency65.9%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Brown Local with test data.

Schools in Brown Local

3 schools

District Details

State
Ohio
City
Malvern
Total Enrollment
576
Teachers (FTE)
50
District spending per student
$17,034NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
16.1%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Brown Local?

Brown Local has 3 schools in total — 1 elementary, 1 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Brown Local?

The average composite rating for Brown Local is 7.1/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Brown Local?

Brown Local's district-level spending was $17,034 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Brown Local?

The average student-teacher ratio in Brown Local is 11.5:1.

What is the top-rated school in Brown Local?

Malvern High School is the highest-rated school in Brown Local with a composite score of 8.5/10.

What are the test scores in Brown Local?

Across schools in Brown Local with test data, the average math proficiency is 56.4% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 65.9%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Brown Local compare to other districts in Ohio?

Brown Local has an average school rating of 7.1/10 across 3 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Ohio by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
7.1/10
Math Proficiency
56.4%
ELA Proficiency
65.9%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Ohio Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.