Skip to main content
7.5avg / 10

Brunswick City School District

School District · Brunswick, Ohio

Students: 6,023
Teachers (FTE): 338

Avg Rating

7.5

out of 10

Schools

8

6 elem, 1 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

6,023

Student-Teacher Ratio

17.8:1

How this district compares

Ohio rank

#75 of 613

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+1.3

above Ohio avg

Per-pupil spending

$13,139

$1,518 vs Ohio median

District size

6,023 students

Much larger than Ohio median

The short answer

Brunswick City ranks #75 of 613 Ohio districts by overall school rating. Brunswick City's schools with real test data average 7.5/10 across 8 schools. Its top-rated schools are Brunswick Memorial Elementary School (9.0/10), Huntington Elementary School (8.9/10), and Walter Kidder Elementary School (8.0/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Best value · beats the odds
Brunswick Memorial Elementary School

Rates 9.0/10 despite 31% of students being economically disadvantaged. That's about 1.5 points higher than its student-poverty level predicts. Roughly as clean a case of strong results without an affluent-ZIP price tag as you'll find among Brunswick City schools.

Top-Rated Schools in Brunswick City

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (8 of 8). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Brunswick Memorial Elementary School9.0 / 10
2Huntington Elementary School8.9 / 10
3Walter Kidder Elementary School8.0 / 10
4Crestview Elementary School7.5 / 10
5Hickory Ridge Elementary School7.3 / 10
6Brunswick High School6.8 / 10
7Brunswick Middle School6.5 / 10
8Applewood Elementary School5.8 / 10

See all 8 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Brunswick City

Brunswick City is a Brunswick, Ohio school district serving 8 schools.The district educates 6,023 students with a student-teacher ratio of 17.8:1. District-level spending was $13,139 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 7.5/10, Brunswick City is among the strongest-performing districts in the state.

The highest-rated school in the district is Brunswick Memorial Elementary School, which has a composite score of 9.0/10.

In standardized testing, Brunswick City students show an average math proficiency of 77.2% and ELA proficiency of 79.2%.

The district includes 6 elementary schools, 1 middle school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Brunswick City, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency77.2%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency79.2%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Brunswick City with test data.

District Details

State
Ohio
City
Brunswick
Total Enrollment
6,023
Teachers (FTE)
338
District spending per student
$13,139NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
6.4%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Brunswick City?

Brunswick City has 8 schools in total — 6 elementary, 1 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Brunswick City?

The average composite rating for Brunswick City is 7.5/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Brunswick City?

Brunswick City's district-level spending was $13,139 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Brunswick City?

The average student-teacher ratio in Brunswick City is 17.8:1.

What is the top-rated school in Brunswick City?

Brunswick Memorial Elementary School is the highest-rated school in Brunswick City with a composite score of 9.0/10.

What are the test scores in Brunswick City?

Across schools in Brunswick City with test data, the average math proficiency is 77.2% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 79.2%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Brunswick City compare to other districts in Ohio?

Brunswick City has an average school rating of 7.5/10 across 8 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Ohio by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
7.5/10
Math Proficiency
77.2%
ELA Proficiency
79.2%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Ohio Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.