Skip to main content
6.7avg / 10

Chardon Local School District

School District · Chardon, Ohio

Students: 2,536
Teachers (FTE): 135
Estimated Scores: 20%

Avg Rating

6.7

out of 10

Schools

5

3 elem, 1 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

2,536

Student-Teacher Ratio

18.8:1

How this district compares

Ohio rank

#248 of 613

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+0.5

above Ohio avg

Per-pupil spending

$15,158

+$501 vs Ohio median

District size

2,536 students

Larger than Ohio median

The short answer

Chardon Local ranks #248 of 613 Ohio districts by overall school rating. Chardon Local's schools with real test data average 7.3/10 across 4 schools. Its top-rated schools are Park Elementary School (8.3/10), Chardon High School (7.4/10), and Chardon Middle School (6.9/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in Chardon Local

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (4 of 5). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Park Elementary School8.3 / 10
2Chardon High School7.4 / 10
3Chardon Middle School6.9 / 10
4Munson Elementary School6.7 / 10

See all 5 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Chardon Local

Chardon Local is a Chardon, Ohio school district serving 5 schools.The district educates 2,536 students with a student-teacher ratio of 18.8:1. District-level spending was $15,158 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.7/10, Chardon Local demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Park Elementary School, which has a composite score of 8.3/10.

In standardized testing, Chardon Local students show an average math proficiency of 86.5% and ELA proficiency of 86.1%.

The district includes 3 elementary schools, 1 middle school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Chardon Local, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency86.5%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency86.1%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Chardon Local with test data.

District Details

State
Ohio
City
Chardon
Total Enrollment
2,536
Teachers (FTE)
135
District spending per student
$15,158NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
5.6%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Chardon Local?

Chardon Local has 5 schools in total — 3 elementary, 1 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Chardon Local?

The average composite rating for Chardon Local is 6.7/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Chardon Local?

Chardon Local's district-level spending was $15,158 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Chardon Local?

The average student-teacher ratio in Chardon Local is 18.8:1.

What is the top-rated school in Chardon Local?

Park Elementary School is the highest-rated school in Chardon Local with a composite score of 8.3/10.

What are the test scores in Chardon Local?

Across schools in Chardon Local with test data, the average math proficiency is 86.5% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 86.1%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Chardon Local compare to other districts in Ohio?

Chardon Local has an average school rating of 6.7/10 across 5 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Ohio by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.7/10
Math Proficiency
86.5%
ELA Proficiency
86.1%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Ohio Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.