Skip to main content
7.5avg / 10

Clay Local School District

School District · Portsmouth, Ohio

Students: 606
Teachers (FTE): 84

Avg Rating

7.5

out of 10

Schools

3

1 elem, 1 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

606

Student-Teacher Ratio

7.2:1

How this district compares

Ohio rank

#69 of 613

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+1.3

above Ohio avg

Per-pupil spending

$14,319

$338 vs Ohio median

District size

606 students

Smaller than Ohio median

The short answer

Clay Local ranks #69 of 613 Ohio districts by overall school rating. Clay Local's schools with real test data average 7.5/10 across 3 schools. Its top-rated schools are Clay High School (7.9/10), Clay Elementary School (7.8/10), and Clay Middle School (6.9/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in Clay Local

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (3 of 3). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Clay High School7.9 / 10
2Clay Elementary School7.8 / 10
3Clay Middle School6.9 / 10

See all 3 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Clay Local

Clay Local is a Portsmouth, Ohio school district serving 3 schools.The district educates 606 students with a student-teacher ratio of 7.2:1. District-level spending was $14,319 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 7.5/10, Clay Local is among the strongest-performing districts in the state.

The highest-rated school in the district is Clay High School, which has a composite score of 7.9/10.

In standardized testing, Clay Local students show an average math proficiency of 58.2% and ELA proficiency of 64.7%.

The district includes 1 elementary school, 1 middle school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Clay Local, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency58.2%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency64.7%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Clay Local with test data.

Schools in Clay Local

3 schools

District Details

State
Ohio
City
Portsmouth
Total Enrollment
606
Teachers (FTE)
84
District spending per student
$14,319NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
19.7%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Clay Local?

Clay Local has 3 schools in total — 1 elementary, 1 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Clay Local?

The average composite rating for Clay Local is 7.5/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Clay Local?

Clay Local's district-level spending was $14,319 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Clay Local?

The average student-teacher ratio in Clay Local is 7.2:1.

What is the top-rated school in Clay Local?

Clay High School is the highest-rated school in Clay Local with a composite score of 7.9/10.

What are the test scores in Clay Local?

Across schools in Clay Local with test data, the average math proficiency is 58.2% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 64.7%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Clay Local compare to other districts in Ohio?

Clay Local has an average school rating of 7.5/10 across 3 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Ohio by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
7.5/10
Math Proficiency
58.2%
ELA Proficiency
64.7%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Ohio Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.