Skip to main content
6.9avg / 10

Dalton Local School District

School District · Dalton, Ohio

Students: 921
Teachers (FTE): 53

Avg Rating

6.9

out of 10

Schools

3

1 elem, 1 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

921

Student-Teacher Ratio

17.4:1

How this district compares

Ohio rank

#182 of 613

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+0.7

above Ohio avg

Per-pupil spending

$13,520

$1,137 vs Ohio median

District size

921 students

Smaller than Ohio median

The short answer

Dalton Local ranks #182 of 613 Ohio districts by overall school rating. Dalton Local's schools with real test data average 6.9/10 across 3 schools. Its top-rated schools are Dalton Middle School (7.7/10), Dalton High School (7.5/10), and Dalton Elementary School (5.6/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in Dalton Local

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (3 of 3). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Dalton Middle School7.7 / 10
2Dalton High School7.5 / 10
3Dalton Elementary School5.6 / 10

See all 3 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Dalton Local

Dalton Local is a Dalton, Ohio school district serving 3 schools.The district educates 921 students with a student-teacher ratio of 17.4:1. District-level spending was $13,520 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.9/10, Dalton Local demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Dalton Middle School, which has a composite score of 7.7/10.

In standardized testing, Dalton Local students show an average math proficiency of 80.6% and ELA proficiency of 83.2%.

The district includes 1 elementary school, 1 middle school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Dalton Local, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency80.6%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency83.2%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Dalton Local with test data.

Schools in Dalton Local

3 schools

District Details

State
Ohio
City
Dalton
Total Enrollment
921
Teachers (FTE)
53
District spending per student
$13,520NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
13.8%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Dalton Local?

Dalton Local has 3 schools in total — 1 elementary, 1 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Dalton Local?

The average composite rating for Dalton Local is 6.9/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Dalton Local?

Dalton Local's district-level spending was $13,520 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Dalton Local?

The average student-teacher ratio in Dalton Local is 17.4:1.

What is the top-rated school in Dalton Local?

Dalton Middle School is the highest-rated school in Dalton Local with a composite score of 7.7/10.

What are the test scores in Dalton Local?

Across schools in Dalton Local with test data, the average math proficiency is 80.6% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 83.2%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Dalton Local compare to other districts in Ohio?

Dalton Local has an average school rating of 6.9/10 across 3 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Ohio by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.9/10
Math Proficiency
80.6%
ELA Proficiency
83.2%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Ohio Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.