Skip to main content
6.5avg / 10

East Guernsey Local School District

School District · Old Washington, Ohio

Students: 1,065
Teachers (FTE): 69
Estimated Scores: 25%

Avg Rating

6.5

out of 10

Schools

4

1 elem, 1 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

1,065

Student-Teacher Ratio

15.4:1

How this district compares

Ohio rank

#312 of 613

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+0.3

above Ohio avg

Per-pupil spending

$16,854

+$2,197 vs Ohio median

District size

1,065 students

Smaller than Ohio median

The short answer

East Guernsey Local ranks #312 of 613 Ohio districts by overall school rating. East Guernsey Local's schools with real test data average 6.6/10 across 3 schools. Its top-rated schools are Buckeye Trail High School (7.9/10), Buckeye Trail Elementary (7.1/10), and Buckeye Trail Middle School (4.8/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in East Guernsey Local

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (3 of 4). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Buckeye Trail High School7.9 / 10
2Buckeye Trail Elementary7.1 / 10
3Buckeye Trail Middle School4.8 / 10

See all 4 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About East Guernsey Local

East Guernsey Local is a Old Washington, Ohio school district serving 4 schools.The district educates 1,065 students with a student-teacher ratio of 15.4:1. District-level spending was $16,854 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.5/10, East Guernsey Local demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Buckeye Trail High School, which has a composite score of 7.9/10.

In standardized testing, East Guernsey Local students show an average math proficiency of 59.9% and ELA proficiency of 66.0%.

The district includes 1 elementary school, 1 middle school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in East Guernsey Local, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency59.9%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency66.0%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in East Guernsey Local with test data.

Schools in East Guernsey Local

4 schools

District Details

State
Ohio
City
Old Washington
Total Enrollment
1,065
Teachers (FTE)
69
District spending per student
$16,854NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
16.7%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in East Guernsey Local?

East Guernsey Local has 4 schools in total — 1 elementary, 1 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for East Guernsey Local?

The average composite rating for East Guernsey Local is 6.5/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in East Guernsey Local?

East Guernsey Local's district-level spending was $16,854 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in East Guernsey Local?

The average student-teacher ratio in East Guernsey Local is 15.4:1.

What is the top-rated school in East Guernsey Local?

Buckeye Trail High School is the highest-rated school in East Guernsey Local with a composite score of 7.9/10.

What are the test scores in East Guernsey Local?

Across schools in East Guernsey Local with test data, the average math proficiency is 59.9% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 66.0%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does East Guernsey Local compare to other districts in Ohio?

East Guernsey Local has an average school rating of 6.5/10 across 4 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Ohio by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.5/10
Math Proficiency
59.9%
ELA Proficiency
66.0%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Ohio Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.