Skip to main content
6.1avg / 10

Elgin Local School District

School District · Marion, Ohio

Students: 997
Teachers (FTE): 65

Avg Rating

6.1

out of 10

Schools

3

1 elem, 1 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

997

Student-Teacher Ratio

15.3:1

How this district compares

Ohio rank

#419 of 613

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

-0.2

below Ohio avg

Per-pupil spending

$13,381

$1,276 vs Ohio median

District size

997 students

Smaller than Ohio median

The short answer

Elgin Local ranks #419 of 613 Ohio districts by overall school rating. Elgin Local's schools with real test data average 6.1/10 across 3 schools. Its top-rated schools are Elgin High School (7.9/10), Elgin Middle School (5.2/10), and Elgin Elementary School (5.1/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in Elgin Local

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (3 of 3). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Elgin High School7.9 / 10
2Elgin Middle School5.2 / 10
3Elgin Elementary School5.1 / 10

See all 3 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Elgin Local

Elgin Local is a Marion, Ohio school district serving 3 schools.The district educates 997 students with a student-teacher ratio of 15.3:1. District-level spending was $13,381 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.1/10, Elgin Local demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Elgin High School, which has a composite score of 7.9/10.

In standardized testing, Elgin Local students show an average math proficiency of 60.6% and ELA proficiency of 61.2%.

The district includes 1 elementary school, 1 middle school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Elgin Local, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency60.6%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency61.2%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Elgin Local with test data.

Schools in Elgin Local

3 schools

District Details

State
Ohio
City
Marion
Total Enrollment
997
Teachers (FTE)
65
District spending per student
$13,381NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
13.8%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Elgin Local?

Elgin Local has 3 schools in total — 1 elementary, 1 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Elgin Local?

The average composite rating for Elgin Local is 6.1/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Elgin Local?

Elgin Local's district-level spending was $13,381 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Elgin Local?

The average student-teacher ratio in Elgin Local is 15.3:1.

What is the top-rated school in Elgin Local?

Elgin High School is the highest-rated school in Elgin Local with a composite score of 7.9/10.

What are the test scores in Elgin Local?

Across schools in Elgin Local with test data, the average math proficiency is 60.6% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 61.2%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Elgin Local compare to other districts in Ohio?

Elgin Local has an average school rating of 6.1/10 across 3 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Ohio by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.1/10
Math Proficiency
60.6%
ELA Proficiency
61.2%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Ohio Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.