Skip to main content
6.1avg / 10

Fairfield Union Local School District

School District · Lancaster, Ohio

Students: 1,919
Teachers (FTE): 105

Avg Rating

6.1

out of 10

Schools

4

2 elem, 1 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

1,919

Student-Teacher Ratio

18.3:1

How this district compares

Ohio rank

#399 of 613

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

-0.1

below Ohio avg

Per-pupil spending

$13,183

$1,474 vs Ohio median

District size

1,919 students

Larger than Ohio median

The short answer

Fairfield Union Local ranks #399 of 613 Ohio districts by overall school rating. Fairfield Union Local's schools with real test data average 6.1/10 across 4 schools. Its top-rated schools are Fairfield Union High School (7.5/10), Bremen Elementary School (6.7/10), and Fairfield Union Rushville Middle School (6.4/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in Fairfield Union Local

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (4 of 4). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Fairfield Union High School7.5 / 10
2Bremen Elementary School6.7 / 10
3Fairfield Union Rushville Middle School6.4 / 10
4Pleasantville Elementary School3.9 / 10

See all 4 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Fairfield Union Local

Fairfield Union Local is a Lancaster, Ohio school district serving 4 schools.The district educates 1,919 students with a student-teacher ratio of 18.3:1. District-level spending was $13,183 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.1/10, Fairfield Union Local demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Fairfield Union High School, which has a composite score of 7.5/10.

In standardized testing, Fairfield Union Local students show an average math proficiency of 67.9% and ELA proficiency of 74.2%.

The district includes 2 elementary schools, 1 middle school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Fairfield Union Local, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency67.9%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency74.2%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Fairfield Union Local with test data.

District Details

State
Ohio
City
Lancaster
Total Enrollment
1,919
Teachers (FTE)
105
District spending per student
$13,183NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
7.5%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Fairfield Union Local?

Fairfield Union Local has 4 schools in total — 2 elementary, 1 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Fairfield Union Local?

The average composite rating for Fairfield Union Local is 6.1/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Fairfield Union Local?

Fairfield Union Local's district-level spending was $13,183 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Fairfield Union Local?

The average student-teacher ratio in Fairfield Union Local is 18.3:1.

What is the top-rated school in Fairfield Union Local?

Fairfield Union High School is the highest-rated school in Fairfield Union Local with a composite score of 7.5/10.

What are the test scores in Fairfield Union Local?

Across schools in Fairfield Union Local with test data, the average math proficiency is 67.9% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 74.2%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Fairfield Union Local compare to other districts in Ohio?

Fairfield Union Local has an average school rating of 6.1/10 across 4 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Ohio by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.1/10
Math Proficiency
67.9%
ELA Proficiency
74.2%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Ohio Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.