Skip to main content
7.0avg / 10

Genoa Area Local School District

School District · Genoa, Ohio

Students: 1,313
Teachers (FTE): 79

Avg Rating

7.0

out of 10

Schools

3

1 elem, 1 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

1,313

Student-Teacher Ratio

16.6:1

How this district compares

Ohio rank

#163 of 613

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+0.8

above Ohio avg

Per-pupil spending

$11,623

$3,034 vs Ohio median

District size

1,313 students

Typical than Ohio median

The short answer

Genoa Area Local ranks #163 of 613 Ohio districts by overall school rating. Genoa Area Local's schools with real test data average 7.0/10 across 3 schools. Its top-rated schools are Genoa Area Middle School (7.9/10), Genoa Area High School (7.5/10), and Genoa Elementary (5.6/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in Genoa Area Local

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (3 of 3). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Genoa Area Middle School7.9 / 10
2Genoa Area High School7.5 / 10
3Genoa Elementary5.6 / 10

See all 3 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Genoa Area Local

Genoa Area Local is a Genoa, Ohio school district serving 3 schools.The district educates 1,313 students with a student-teacher ratio of 16.6:1. District-level spending was $11,623 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 7.0/10, Genoa Area Local is among the strongest-performing districts in the state.

The highest-rated school in the district is Genoa Area Middle School, which has a composite score of 7.9/10.

In standardized testing, Genoa Area Local students show an average math proficiency of 71.4% and ELA proficiency of 75.8%.

The district includes 1 elementary school, 1 middle school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Genoa Area Local, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency71.4%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency75.8%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Genoa Area Local with test data.

Schools in Genoa Area Local

3 schools

District Details

State
Ohio
City
Genoa
Total Enrollment
1,313
Teachers (FTE)
79
District spending per student
$11,623NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
6.7%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Genoa Area Local?

Genoa Area Local has 3 schools in total — 1 elementary, 1 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Genoa Area Local?

The average composite rating for Genoa Area Local is 7.0/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Genoa Area Local?

Genoa Area Local's district-level spending was $11,623 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Genoa Area Local?

The average student-teacher ratio in Genoa Area Local is 16.6:1.

What is the top-rated school in Genoa Area Local?

Genoa Area Middle School is the highest-rated school in Genoa Area Local with a composite score of 7.9/10.

What are the test scores in Genoa Area Local?

Across schools in Genoa Area Local with test data, the average math proficiency is 71.4% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 75.8%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Genoa Area Local compare to other districts in Ohio?

Genoa Area Local has an average school rating of 7.0/10 across 3 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Ohio by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
7.0/10
Math Proficiency
71.4%
ELA Proficiency
75.8%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Ohio Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.