Skip to main content
3.9avg / 10

Hamilton Local School District

School District · Columbus, Ohio

Students: 3,151
Teachers (FTE): 165
Estimated Scores: 20%

Avg Rating

3.9

out of 10

Schools

5

1 elem, 2 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

3,151

Student-Teacher Ratio

19.1:1

How this district compares

Ohio rank

#611 of 613

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

-2.3

below Ohio avg

Per-pupil spending

$11,458

$3,199 vs Ohio median

District size

3,151 students

Much larger than Ohio median

The short answer

Hamilton Local ranks #611 of 613 Ohio districts by overall school rating. Hamilton Local's schools with real test data average 3.8/10 across 4 schools. Its top-rated schools are Hamilton Intermediate School (5.1/10), Hamilton Elementary School (3.5/10), and Hamilton Middle School (3.4/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in Hamilton Local

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (4 of 5). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Hamilton Intermediate School5.1 / 10
2Hamilton Elementary School3.5 / 10
3Hamilton Middle School3.4 / 10
4Hamilton Township High School3.2 / 10

See all 5 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Hamilton Local

Hamilton Local is a Columbus, Ohio school district serving 5 schools.The district educates 3,151 students with a student-teacher ratio of 19.1:1. District-level spending was $11,458 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 3.9/10, Hamilton Local has schools with varying levels of academic achievement.

The highest-rated school in the district is Hamilton Intermediate School, which has a composite score of 5.1/10.

In standardized testing, Hamilton Local students show an average math proficiency of 67.1% and ELA proficiency of 67.7%.

The district includes 1 elementary school, 2 middle schools, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Hamilton Local, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency67.1%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency67.7%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Hamilton Local with test data.

District Details

State
Ohio
City
Columbus
Total Enrollment
3,151
Teachers (FTE)
165
District spending per student
$11,458NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
15.7%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Hamilton Local?

Hamilton Local has 5 schools in total — 1 elementary, 2 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Hamilton Local?

The average composite rating for Hamilton Local is 3.9/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Hamilton Local?

Hamilton Local's district-level spending was $11,458 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Hamilton Local?

The average student-teacher ratio in Hamilton Local is 19.1:1.

What is the top-rated school in Hamilton Local?

Hamilton Intermediate School is the highest-rated school in Hamilton Local with a composite score of 5.1/10.

What are the test scores in Hamilton Local?

Across schools in Hamilton Local with test data, the average math proficiency is 67.1% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 67.7%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Hamilton Local compare to other districts in Ohio?

Hamilton Local has an average school rating of 3.9/10 across 5 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Ohio by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
3.9/10
Math Proficiency
67.1%
ELA Proficiency
67.7%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Ohio Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.