Skip to main content
7.9avg / 10

Hardin Northern Local School District

School District · Dola, Ohio

Students: 384
Teachers (FTE): 32

Avg Rating

7.9

out of 10

Schools

2

1 elem, 1 high

Enrollment

384

Student-Teacher Ratio

12:1

How this district compares

Ohio rank

#27 of 613

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+1.7

above Ohio avg

Per-pupil spending

$18,227

+$3,570 vs Ohio median

District size

384 students

Smaller than Ohio median

Top-Rated Schools in Hardin Northern Local

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (2 of 2). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Hardin Northern High School8.6 / 10
2Hardin Northern Elementary School7.2 / 10

See all 2 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Hardin Northern Local

Hardin Northern Local is a Dola, Ohio school district serving 2 schools.The district educates 384 students with a student-teacher ratio of 12:1. District-level spending was $18,227 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 7.9/10, Hardin Northern Local is among the strongest-performing districts in the state.

The highest-rated school in the district is Hardin Northern High School, which has a composite score of 8.6/10.

In standardized testing, Hardin Northern Local students show an average math proficiency of 63.2% and ELA proficiency of 70.2%.

The district includes 1 elementary school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Hardin Northern Local, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency63.2%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency70.2%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Hardin Northern Local with test data.

Schools in Hardin Northern Local

2 schools

District Details

State
Ohio
City
Dola
Total Enrollment
384
Teachers (FTE)
32
District spending per student
$18,227NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
12.6%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Hardin Northern Local?

Hardin Northern Local has 2 schools in total — 1 elementary, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Hardin Northern Local?

The average composite rating for Hardin Northern Local is 7.9/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Hardin Northern Local?

Hardin Northern Local's district-level spending was $18,227 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Hardin Northern Local?

The average student-teacher ratio in Hardin Northern Local is 12:1.

What is the top-rated school in Hardin Northern Local?

Hardin Northern High School is the highest-rated school in Hardin Northern Local with a composite score of 8.6/10.

What are the test scores in Hardin Northern Local?

Across schools in Hardin Northern Local with test data, the average math proficiency is 63.2% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 70.2%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
7.9/10
Math Proficiency
63.2%
ELA Proficiency
70.2%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Ohio Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.