Skip to main content
6.8avg / 10

James a Garfield Local School District

School District · Garrettsville, Ohio

Students: 1,183
Teachers (FTE): 73

Avg Rating

6.8

out of 10

Schools

3

1 elem, 1 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

1,183

Student-Teacher Ratio

16.2:1

How this district compares

Ohio rank

#212 of 613

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+0.6

above Ohio avg

Per-pupil spending

$13,223

$1,434 vs Ohio median

District size

1,183 students

Smaller than Ohio median

The short answer

James a Garfield Local ranks #212 of 613 Ohio districts by overall school rating. James a Garfield Local's schools with real test data average 6.8/10 across 3 schools. Its top-rated schools are James a Garfield Elementary School (8.1/10), James a Garfield High School (7.4/10), and James a Garfield Middle School (5.0/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in James a Garfield Local

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (3 of 3). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1James a Garfield Elementary School8.1 / 10
2James a Garfield High School7.4 / 10
3James a Garfield Middle School5.0 / 10

See all 3 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About James a Garfield Local

James a Garfield Local is a Garrettsville, Ohio school district serving 3 schools.The district educates 1,183 students with a student-teacher ratio of 16.2:1. District-level spending was $13,223 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.8/10, James a Garfield Local demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is James a Garfield Elementary School, which has a composite score of 8.1/10.

In standardized testing, James a Garfield Local students show an average math proficiency of 71.1% and ELA proficiency of 71.1%.

The district includes 1 elementary school, 1 middle school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in James a Garfield Local, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency71.1%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency71.1%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in James a Garfield Local with test data.

Schools in James a Garfield Local

3 schools

District Details

State
Ohio
City
Garrettsville
Total Enrollment
1,183
Teachers (FTE)
73
District spending per student
$13,223NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
7.0%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in James a Garfield Local?

James a Garfield Local has 3 schools in total — 1 elementary, 1 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for James a Garfield Local?

The average composite rating for James a Garfield Local is 6.8/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in James a Garfield Local?

James a Garfield Local's district-level spending was $13,223 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in James a Garfield Local?

The average student-teacher ratio in James a Garfield Local is 16.2:1.

What is the top-rated school in James a Garfield Local?

James a Garfield Elementary School is the highest-rated school in James a Garfield Local with a composite score of 8.1/10.

What are the test scores in James a Garfield Local?

Across schools in James a Garfield Local with test data, the average math proficiency is 71.1% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 71.1%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does James a Garfield Local compare to other districts in Ohio?

James a Garfield Local has an average school rating of 6.8/10 across 3 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Ohio by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.8/10
Math Proficiency
71.1%
ELA Proficiency
71.1%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Ohio Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.