Skip to main content
5.6avg / 10

Kings Local School District

School District · Kings Mills, Ohio

Students: 4,984
Teachers (FTE): 222
Estimated Scores: 14%

Avg Rating

5.6

out of 10

Schools

7

3 elem, 2 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

4,984

Student-Teacher Ratio

22.5:1

How this district compares

Ohio rank

#520 of 613

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

-0.6

below Ohio avg

Per-pupil spending

$13,429

$1,228 vs Ohio median

District size

4,984 students

Much larger than Ohio median

The short answer

Kings Local ranks #520 of 613 Ohio districts by overall school rating. Kings Local's schools with real test data average 5.7/10 across 6 schools. Its top-rated schools are Kings High School (7.2/10), Kings Junior High School (6.1/10), and Kings Mills Elementary School (5.8/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in Kings Local

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (6 of 7). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Kings High School7.2 / 10
2Kings Junior High School6.1 / 10
3Kings Mills Elementary School5.8 / 10
4J F Burns Elementary School5.5 / 10
5Columbia Intermediate School5.0 / 10
6South Lebanon Elementary School4.6 / 10

See all 7 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Kings Local

Kings Local is a Kings Mills, Ohio school district serving 7 schools.The district educates 4,984 students with a student-teacher ratio of 22.5:1. District-level spending was $13,429 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 5.6/10, Kings Local demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Kings High School, which has a composite score of 7.2/10.

In standardized testing, Kings Local students show an average math proficiency of 84.5% and ELA proficiency of 83.5%.

The district includes 3 elementary schools, 2 middle schools, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Kings Local, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency84.5%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency83.5%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Kings Local with test data.

District Details

State
Ohio
City
Kings Mills
Total Enrollment
4,984
Teachers (FTE)
222
District spending per student
$13,429NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
7.5%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Kings Local?

Kings Local has 7 schools in total — 3 elementary, 2 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Kings Local?

The average composite rating for Kings Local is 5.6/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Kings Local?

Kings Local's district-level spending was $13,429 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Kings Local?

The average student-teacher ratio in Kings Local is 22.5:1.

What is the top-rated school in Kings Local?

Kings High School is the highest-rated school in Kings Local with a composite score of 7.2/10.

What are the test scores in Kings Local?

Across schools in Kings Local with test data, the average math proficiency is 84.5% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 83.5%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Kings Local compare to other districts in Ohio?

Kings Local has an average school rating of 5.6/10 across 7 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Ohio by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
5.6/10
Math Proficiency
84.5%
ELA Proficiency
83.5%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Ohio Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.