Skip to main content
6.5avg / 10

Marion City School District

School District · Marion, Ohio

Students: 4,143
Teachers (FTE): 285

Avg Rating

6.5

out of 10

Schools

8

6 elem, 1 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

4,143

Student-Teacher Ratio

14.5:1

How this district compares

Ohio rank

#307 of 613

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+0.3

above Ohio avg

Per-pupil spending

$15,626

+$969 vs Ohio median

District size

4,143 students

Much larger than Ohio median

The short answer

Marion City ranks #307 of 613 Ohio districts by overall school rating. Marion City's schools with real test data average 6.5/10 across 8 schools. Its top-rated schools are Rutherford B. Hayes Elementary School (7.8/10), James A. Garfield Elementary School (7.7/10), and William Mckinley Elementary School (7.2/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in Marion City

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (8 of 8). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Rutherford B. Hayes Elementary School7.8 / 10
2James A. Garfield Elementary School7.7 / 10
3William Mckinley Elementary School7.2 / 10
4William H. Taft Elementary School7.1 / 10
5Harding High School6.5 / 10
6George Washington Elementary School6.2 / 10
7Ulysses S. Grant Middle School5.0 / 10
8Benjamin Harrison Elementary School4.5 / 10

See all 8 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Marion City

Marion City is a Marion, Ohio school district serving 8 schools.The district educates 4,143 students with a student-teacher ratio of 14.5:1. District-level spending was $15,626 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.5/10, Marion City demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Rutherford B. Hayes Elementary School, which has a composite score of 7.8/10.

In standardized testing, Marion City students show an average math proficiency of 40.9% and ELA proficiency of 47.6%.

The district includes 6 elementary schools, 1 middle school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Marion City, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency40.9%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency47.6%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Marion City with test data.

District Details

State
Ohio
City
Marion
Total Enrollment
4,143
Teachers (FTE)
285
District spending per student
$15,626NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
29.4%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Marion City?

Marion City has 8 schools in total — 6 elementary, 1 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Marion City?

The average composite rating for Marion City is 6.5/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Marion City?

Marion City's district-level spending was $15,626 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Marion City?

The average student-teacher ratio in Marion City is 14.5:1.

What is the top-rated school in Marion City?

Rutherford B. Hayes Elementary School is the highest-rated school in Marion City with a composite score of 7.8/10.

What are the test scores in Marion City?

Across schools in Marion City with test data, the average math proficiency is 40.9% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 47.6%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Marion City compare to other districts in Ohio?

Marion City has an average school rating of 6.5/10 across 8 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Ohio by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.5/10
Math Proficiency
40.9%
ELA Proficiency
47.6%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Ohio Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.