Skip to main content
6.6avg / 10

Morgan Local School District

School District · Mc Connelsville, Ohio

Students: 1,632
Teachers (FTE): 115

Avg Rating

6.6

out of 10

Schools

5

3 elem, 1 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

1,632

Student-Teacher Ratio

14.2:1

How this district compares

Ohio rank

#273 of 613

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+0.4

above Ohio avg

Per-pupil spending

$17,641

+$2,984 vs Ohio median

District size

1,632 students

Typical than Ohio median

The short answer

Morgan Local ranks #273 of 613 Ohio districts by overall school rating. Morgan Local's schools with real test data average 6.6/10 across 5 schools. Its top-rated schools are West Elementary School (8.5/10), Morgan High School (7.3/10), and South Elementary School (6.6/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in Morgan Local

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (5 of 5). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1West Elementary School8.5 / 10
2Morgan High School7.3 / 10
3South Elementary School6.6 / 10
4East Elementary School5.4 / 10
5Morgan Junior High School5.3 / 10

See all 5 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Morgan Local

Morgan Local is a Mc Connelsville, Ohio school district serving 5 schools.The district educates 1,632 students with a student-teacher ratio of 14.2:1. District-level spending was $17,641 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.6/10, Morgan Local demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is West Elementary School, which has a composite score of 8.5/10.

In standardized testing, Morgan Local students show an average math proficiency of 63.3% and ELA proficiency of 66.8%.

The district includes 3 elementary schools, 1 middle school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Morgan Local, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency63.3%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency66.8%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Morgan Local with test data.

District Details

State
Ohio
City
Mc Connelsville
Total Enrollment
1,632
Teachers (FTE)
115
District spending per student
$17,641NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
18.1%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Morgan Local?

Morgan Local has 5 schools in total — 3 elementary, 1 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Morgan Local?

The average composite rating for Morgan Local is 6.6/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Morgan Local?

Morgan Local's district-level spending was $17,641 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Morgan Local?

The average student-teacher ratio in Morgan Local is 14.2:1.

What is the top-rated school in Morgan Local?

West Elementary School is the highest-rated school in Morgan Local with a composite score of 8.5/10.

What are the test scores in Morgan Local?

Across schools in Morgan Local with test data, the average math proficiency is 63.3% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 66.8%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Morgan Local compare to other districts in Ohio?

Morgan Local has an average school rating of 6.6/10 across 5 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Ohio by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.6/10
Math Proficiency
63.3%
ELA Proficiency
66.8%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Ohio Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.