Skip to main content
7.3avg / 10

National Trail Local School District

School District · New Paris, Ohio

Students: 932
Teachers (FTE): 69

Avg Rating

7.3

out of 10

Schools

3

1 elem, 1 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

932

Student-Teacher Ratio

13.5:1

How this district compares

Ohio rank

#104 of 613

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+1.1

above Ohio avg

Per-pupil spending

$16,454

+$1,797 vs Ohio median

District size

932 students

Smaller than Ohio median

The short answer

National Trail Local ranks #104 of 613 Ohio districts by overall school rating. National Trail Local's schools with real test data average 7.3/10 across 3 schools. Its top-rated schools are National Trail Elementary School (7.6/10), National Trail High School (7.3/10), and National Trail Middle School (7.0/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in National Trail Local

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (3 of 3). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1National Trail Elementary School7.6 / 10
2National Trail High School7.3 / 10
3National Trail Middle School7.0 / 10

See all 3 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About National Trail Local

National Trail Local is a New Paris, Ohio school district serving 3 schools.The district educates 932 students with a student-teacher ratio of 13.5:1. District-level spending was $16,454 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 7.3/10, National Trail Local is among the strongest-performing districts in the state.

The highest-rated school in the district is National Trail Elementary School, which has a composite score of 7.6/10.

In standardized testing, National Trail Local students show an average math proficiency of 66.2% and ELA proficiency of 70.8%.

The district includes 1 elementary school, 1 middle school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in National Trail Local, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency66.2%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency70.8%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in National Trail Local with test data.

Schools in National Trail Local

3 schools

District Details

State
Ohio
City
New Paris
Total Enrollment
932
Teachers (FTE)
69
District spending per student
$16,454NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
16.1%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in National Trail Local?

National Trail Local has 3 schools in total — 1 elementary, 1 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for National Trail Local?

The average composite rating for National Trail Local is 7.3/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in National Trail Local?

National Trail Local's district-level spending was $16,454 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in National Trail Local?

The average student-teacher ratio in National Trail Local is 13.5:1.

What is the top-rated school in National Trail Local?

National Trail Elementary School is the highest-rated school in National Trail Local with a composite score of 7.6/10.

What are the test scores in National Trail Local?

Across schools in National Trail Local with test data, the average math proficiency is 66.2% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 70.8%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does National Trail Local compare to other districts in Ohio?

National Trail Local has an average school rating of 7.3/10 across 3 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Ohio by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
7.3/10
Math Proficiency
66.2%
ELA Proficiency
70.8%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Ohio Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.