Skip to main content
6.3avg / 10

Norwalk City School District

School District · Norwalk, Ohio

Students: 2,494
Teachers (FTE): 154

Avg Rating

6.3

out of 10

Schools

6

3 elem, 2 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

2,494

Student-Teacher Ratio

16.2:1

How this district compares

Ohio rank

#375 of 613

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+0.0

above Ohio avg

Per-pupil spending

$13,649

$1,008 vs Ohio median

District size

2,494 students

Larger than Ohio median

The short answer

Norwalk City ranks #375 of 613 Ohio districts by overall school rating. Norwalk City's schools with real test data average 6.3/10 across 6 schools. Its top-rated schools are Main Street School (8.6/10), Pleasant Elementary School (7.3/10), and Norwalk High School (6.7/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in Norwalk City

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (6 of 6). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Main Street School8.6 / 10
2Pleasant Elementary School7.3 / 10
3Norwalk High School6.7 / 10
4Norwalk Middle School6.5 / 10
5Maplehurst Elementary School5.2 / 10
6League Elementary School3.3 / 10

See all 6 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Norwalk City

Norwalk City is a Norwalk, Ohio school district serving 6 schools.The district educates 2,494 students with a student-teacher ratio of 16.2:1. District-level spending was $13,649 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.3/10, Norwalk City demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Main Street School, which has a composite score of 8.6/10.

In standardized testing, Norwalk City students show an average math proficiency of 70.4% and ELA proficiency of 71.7%.

The district includes 3 elementary schools, 2 middle schools, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Norwalk City, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency70.4%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency71.7%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Norwalk City with test data.

District Details

State
Ohio
City
Norwalk
Total Enrollment
2,494
Teachers (FTE)
154
District spending per student
$13,649NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
13.8%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Norwalk City?

Norwalk City has 6 schools in total — 3 elementary, 2 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Norwalk City?

The average composite rating for Norwalk City is 6.3/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Norwalk City?

Norwalk City's district-level spending was $13,649 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Norwalk City?

The average student-teacher ratio in Norwalk City is 16.2:1.

What is the top-rated school in Norwalk City?

Main Street School is the highest-rated school in Norwalk City with a composite score of 8.6/10.

What are the test scores in Norwalk City?

Across schools in Norwalk City with test data, the average math proficiency is 70.4% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 71.7%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Norwalk City compare to other districts in Ohio?

Norwalk City has an average school rating of 6.3/10 across 6 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Ohio by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.3/10
Math Proficiency
70.4%
ELA Proficiency
71.7%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Ohio Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.