Skip to main content
6.7avg / 10

Norwayne Local School District

School District · Creston, Ohio

Students: 1,297
Teachers (FTE): 72

Avg Rating

6.7

out of 10

Schools

3

1 elem, 1 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

1,297

Student-Teacher Ratio

18:1

How this district compares

Ohio rank

#258 of 613

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+0.5

above Ohio avg

Per-pupil spending

$12,441

$2,216 vs Ohio median

District size

1,297 students

Typical than Ohio median

The short answer

Norwayne Local ranks #258 of 613 Ohio districts by overall school rating. Norwayne Local's schools with real test data average 6.7/10 across 3 schools. Its top-rated schools are Norwayne High School (8.0/10), Norwayne Middle School (6.4/10), and Norwayne Elementary School (5.7/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in Norwayne Local

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (3 of 3). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Norwayne High School8.0 / 10
2Norwayne Middle School6.4 / 10
3Norwayne Elementary School5.7 / 10

See all 3 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Norwayne Local

Norwayne Local is a Creston, Ohio school district serving 3 schools.The district educates 1,297 students with a student-teacher ratio of 18:1. District-level spending was $12,441 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.7/10, Norwayne Local demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Norwayne High School, which has a composite score of 8.0/10.

In standardized testing, Norwayne Local students show an average math proficiency of 81.5% and ELA proficiency of 82.4%.

The district includes 1 elementary school, 1 middle school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Norwayne Local, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency81.5%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency82.4%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Norwayne Local with test data.

Schools in Norwayne Local

3 schools

District Details

State
Ohio
City
Creston
Total Enrollment
1,297
Teachers (FTE)
72
District spending per student
$12,441NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
10.5%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Norwayne Local?

Norwayne Local has 3 schools in total — 1 elementary, 1 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Norwayne Local?

The average composite rating for Norwayne Local is 6.7/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Norwayne Local?

Norwayne Local's district-level spending was $12,441 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Norwayne Local?

The average student-teacher ratio in Norwayne Local is 18:1.

What is the top-rated school in Norwayne Local?

Norwayne High School is the highest-rated school in Norwayne Local with a composite score of 8.0/10.

What are the test scores in Norwayne Local?

Across schools in Norwayne Local with test data, the average math proficiency is 81.5% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 82.4%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Norwayne Local compare to other districts in Ohio?

Norwayne Local has an average school rating of 6.7/10 across 3 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Ohio by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.7/10
Math Proficiency
81.5%
ELA Proficiency
82.4%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Ohio Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.