Skip to main content
5.9avg / 10

Plain Local School District

School District · Canton, Ohio

Students: 5,917
Teachers (FTE): 286

Avg Rating

5.9

out of 10

Schools

9

6 elem, 2 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

5,917

Student-Teacher Ratio

20.7:1

How this district compares

Ohio rank

#441 of 613

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

-0.3

below Ohio avg

Per-pupil spending

$12,140

$2,517 vs Ohio median

District size

5,917 students

Much larger than Ohio median

The short answer

Plain Local ranks #441 of 613 Ohio districts by overall school rating. Plain Local's schools with real test data average 5.9/10 across 9 schools. Its top-rated schools are Robert A. Taft Elementary School (8.2/10), Frazer Elementary School (8.0/10), and Glenoak High School (7.0/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Best value · beats the odds
Frazer Elementary School

Rates 8.0/10 despite 56% of students being economically disadvantaged. That's about 2.0 points higher than its student-poverty level predicts. Roughly as clean a case of strong results without an affluent-ZIP price tag as you'll find among Plain Local schools.

Top-Rated Schools in Plain Local

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (9 of 9). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Robert A. Taft Elementary School8.2 / 10
2Frazer Elementary School8.0 / 10
3Glenoak High School7.0 / 10
4Glenwood Intermediate School6.4 / 10
5Middlebranch Elementary School5.9 / 10
6Oakwood Middle School5.8 / 10
7Avondale Elementary School4.8 / 10
8Ransom H Barr Elementary School4.2 / 10
9Charles L Warstler Elementary School3.2 / 10

See all 9 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Plain Local

Plain Local is a Canton, Ohio school district serving 9 schools.The district educates 5,917 students with a student-teacher ratio of 20.7:1. District-level spending was $12,140 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 5.9/10, Plain Local demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Robert A. Taft Elementary School, which has a composite score of 8.2/10.

In standardized testing, Plain Local students show an average math proficiency of 78.5% and ELA proficiency of 77.1%.

The district includes 6 elementary schools, 2 middle schools, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Plain Local, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency78.5%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency77.1%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Plain Local with test data.

District Details

State
Ohio
City
Canton
Total Enrollment
5,917
Teachers (FTE)
286
District spending per student
$12,140NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
14.2%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Plain Local?

Plain Local has 9 schools in total — 6 elementary, 2 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Plain Local?

The average composite rating for Plain Local is 5.9/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Plain Local?

Plain Local's district-level spending was $12,140 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Plain Local?

The average student-teacher ratio in Plain Local is 20.7:1.

What is the top-rated school in Plain Local?

Robert A. Taft Elementary School is the highest-rated school in Plain Local with a composite score of 8.2/10.

What are the test scores in Plain Local?

Across schools in Plain Local with test data, the average math proficiency is 78.5% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 77.1%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Plain Local compare to other districts in Ohio?

Plain Local has an average school rating of 5.9/10 across 9 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Ohio by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
5.9/10
Math Proficiency
78.5%
ELA Proficiency
77.1%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Ohio Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.