Skip to main content
5.6avg / 10

River Valley Local School District

School District · Caledonia, Ohio

Students: 1,870
Teachers (FTE): 103

Avg Rating

5.6

out of 10

Schools

4

2 elem, 1 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

1,870

Student-Teacher Ratio

18.2:1

How this district compares

Ohio rank

#522 of 613

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

-0.6

below Ohio avg

Per-pupil spending

$12,038

$2,619 vs Ohio median

District size

1,870 students

Larger than Ohio median

The short answer

River Valley Local ranks #522 of 613 Ohio districts by overall school rating. River Valley Local's schools with real test data average 5.6/10 across 4 schools. Its top-rated schools are Heritage Elementary School (7.3/10), River Valley High School (6.5/10), and Liberty Elementary School (4.6/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in River Valley Local

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (4 of 4). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Heritage Elementary School7.3 / 10
2River Valley High School6.5 / 10
3Liberty Elementary School4.6 / 10
4River Valley Middle School3.9 / 10

See all 4 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About River Valley Local

River Valley Local is a Caledonia, Ohio school district serving 4 schools.The district educates 1,870 students with a student-teacher ratio of 18.2:1. District-level spending was $12,038 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 5.6/10, River Valley Local demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Heritage Elementary School, which has a composite score of 7.3/10.

In standardized testing, River Valley Local students show an average math proficiency of 68.3% and ELA proficiency of 71.2%.

The district includes 2 elementary schools, 1 middle school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in River Valley Local, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency68.3%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency71.2%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in River Valley Local with test data.

Schools in River Valley Local

4 schools

District Details

State
Ohio
City
Caledonia
Total Enrollment
1,870
Teachers (FTE)
103
District spending per student
$12,038NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
12.3%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in River Valley Local?

River Valley Local has 4 schools in total — 2 elementary, 1 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for River Valley Local?

The average composite rating for River Valley Local is 5.6/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in River Valley Local?

River Valley Local's district-level spending was $12,038 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in River Valley Local?

The average student-teacher ratio in River Valley Local is 18.2:1.

What is the top-rated school in River Valley Local?

Heritage Elementary School is the highest-rated school in River Valley Local with a composite score of 7.3/10.

What are the test scores in River Valley Local?

Across schools in River Valley Local with test data, the average math proficiency is 68.3% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 71.2%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does River Valley Local compare to other districts in Ohio?

River Valley Local has an average school rating of 5.6/10 across 4 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Ohio by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
5.6/10
Math Proficiency
68.3%
ELA Proficiency
71.2%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Ohio Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.