Skip to main content
6.7avg / 10

South Point Local School District

School District · South Point, Ohio

Students: 1,366
Teachers (FTE): 82

Avg Rating

6.7

out of 10

Schools

4

2 elem, 1 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

1,366

Student-Teacher Ratio

16.7:1

How this district compares

Ohio rank

#260 of 613

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+0.5

above Ohio avg

Per-pupil spending

$16,469

+$1,812 vs Ohio median

District size

1,366 students

Typical than Ohio median

The short answer

South Point Local ranks #260 of 613 Ohio districts by overall school rating. South Point Local's schools with real test data average 6.7/10 across 4 schools. Its top-rated schools are Burlington Elementary School (8.3/10), South Point High School (7.8/10), and South Point Elementary School (6.6/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in South Point Local

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (4 of 4). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Burlington Elementary School8.3 / 10
2South Point High School7.8 / 10
3South Point Elementary School6.6 / 10
4South Point Middle School4.0 / 10

See all 4 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About South Point Local

South Point Local is a South Point, Ohio school district serving 4 schools.The district educates 1,366 students with a student-teacher ratio of 16.7:1. District-level spending was $16,469 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.7/10, South Point Local demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Burlington Elementary School, which has a composite score of 8.3/10.

In standardized testing, South Point Local students show an average math proficiency of 57.6% and ELA proficiency of 67.0%.

The district includes 2 elementary schools, 1 middle school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in South Point Local, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency57.6%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency67.0%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in South Point Local with test data.

District Details

State
Ohio
City
South Point
Total Enrollment
1,366
Teachers (FTE)
82
District spending per student
$16,469NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
17.3%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in South Point Local?

South Point Local has 4 schools in total — 2 elementary, 1 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for South Point Local?

The average composite rating for South Point Local is 6.7/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in South Point Local?

South Point Local's district-level spending was $16,469 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in South Point Local?

The average student-teacher ratio in South Point Local is 16.7:1.

What is the top-rated school in South Point Local?

Burlington Elementary School is the highest-rated school in South Point Local with a composite score of 8.3/10.

What are the test scores in South Point Local?

Across schools in South Point Local with test data, the average math proficiency is 57.6% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 67.0%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does South Point Local compare to other districts in Ohio?

South Point Local has an average school rating of 6.7/10 across 4 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Ohio by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.7/10
Math Proficiency
57.6%
ELA Proficiency
67.0%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Ohio Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.