Skip to main content
6.5avg / 10

Southeast Local School District

School District · Apple Creek, Ohio

Students: 1,232
Teachers (FTE): 86

Avg Rating

6.5

out of 10

Schools

6

4 elem, 1 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

1,232

Student-Teacher Ratio

14.3:1

How this district compares

Ohio rank

#323 of 613

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+0.2

above Ohio avg

Per-pupil spending

$16,656

+$1,999 vs Ohio median

District size

1,232 students

Typical than Ohio median

The short answer

Southeast Local ranks #323 of 613 Ohio districts by overall school rating. Southeast Local's schools with real test data average 6.5/10 across 6 schools. Its top-rated schools are Mount Eaton Elementary School (8.1/10), Waynedale High School (7.7/10), and Apple Creek Elementary School (7.3/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in Southeast Local

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (6 of 6). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Mount Eaton Elementary School8.1 / 10
2Waynedale High School7.7 / 10
3Apple Creek Elementary School7.3 / 10
4Fredericksburg Elementary School6.6 / 10
5John R Lea Middle School4.5 / 10
6Holmesville Elementary School4.5 / 10

See all 6 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Southeast Local

Southeast Local is a Apple Creek, Ohio school district serving 6 schools.The district educates 1,232 students with a student-teacher ratio of 14.3:1. District-level spending was $16,656 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.5/10, Southeast Local demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Mount Eaton Elementary School, which has a composite score of 8.1/10.

In standardized testing, Southeast Local students show an average math proficiency of 73.7% and ELA proficiency of 73.3%.

The district includes 4 elementary schools, 1 middle school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Southeast Local, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency73.7%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency73.3%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Southeast Local with test data.

District Details

State
Ohio
City
Apple Creek
Total Enrollment
1,232
Teachers (FTE)
86
District spending per student
$16,656NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
11.3%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Southeast Local?

Southeast Local has 6 schools in total — 4 elementary, 1 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Southeast Local?

The average composite rating for Southeast Local is 6.5/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Southeast Local?

Southeast Local's district-level spending was $16,656 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Southeast Local?

The average student-teacher ratio in Southeast Local is 14.3:1.

What is the top-rated school in Southeast Local?

Mount Eaton Elementary School is the highest-rated school in Southeast Local with a composite score of 8.1/10.

What are the test scores in Southeast Local?

Across schools in Southeast Local with test data, the average math proficiency is 73.7% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 73.3%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Southeast Local compare to other districts in Ohio?

Southeast Local has an average school rating of 6.5/10 across 6 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Ohio by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.5/10
Math Proficiency
73.7%
ELA Proficiency
73.3%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Ohio Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.