Skip to main content
6.4avg / 10

Southwest Local School District

School District · Harrison, Ohio

Students: 4,382
Teachers (FTE): 177

Avg Rating

6.4

out of 10

Schools

5

3 elem, 1 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

4,382

Student-Teacher Ratio

24.8:1

How this district compares

Ohio rank

#341 of 613

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+0.2

above Ohio avg

Per-pupil spending

$11,484

$3,173 vs Ohio median

District size

4,382 students

Much larger than Ohio median

The short answer

Southwest Local ranks #341 of 613 Ohio districts by overall school rating. Southwest Local's schools with real test data average 6.4/10 across 5 schools. Its top-rated schools are Miami Whitewater Elementary School (7.8/10), Crosby Elementary School (6.9/10), and William Henry Harrison High School (6.8/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in Southwest Local

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (5 of 5). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Miami Whitewater Elementary School7.8 / 10
2Crosby Elementary School6.9 / 10
3William Henry Harrison High School6.8 / 10
4Harrison Middle School5.8 / 10
5Harrison Elementary School4.6 / 10

See all 5 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Southwest Local

Southwest Local is a Harrison, Ohio school district serving 5 schools.The district educates 4,382 students with a student-teacher ratio of 24.8:1. District-level spending was $11,484 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.4/10, Southwest Local demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Miami Whitewater Elementary School, which has a composite score of 7.8/10.

In standardized testing, Southwest Local students show an average math proficiency of 75.3% and ELA proficiency of 76.4%.

The district includes 3 elementary schools, 1 middle school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Southwest Local, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency75.3%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency76.4%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Southwest Local with test data.

District Details

State
Ohio
City
Harrison
Total Enrollment
4,382
Teachers (FTE)
177
District spending per student
$11,484NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
9.5%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Southwest Local?

Southwest Local has 5 schools in total — 3 elementary, 1 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Southwest Local?

The average composite rating for Southwest Local is 6.4/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Southwest Local?

Southwest Local's district-level spending was $11,484 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Southwest Local?

The average student-teacher ratio in Southwest Local is 24.8:1.

What is the top-rated school in Southwest Local?

Miami Whitewater Elementary School is the highest-rated school in Southwest Local with a composite score of 7.8/10.

What are the test scores in Southwest Local?

Across schools in Southwest Local with test data, the average math proficiency is 75.3% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 76.4%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Southwest Local compare to other districts in Ohio?

Southwest Local has an average school rating of 6.4/10 across 5 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Ohio by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.4/10
Math Proficiency
75.3%
ELA Proficiency
76.4%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Ohio Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.