Skip to main content
6.9avg / 10

Springfield Local School District

School District · New Middletown, Ohio

Students: 895
Teachers (FTE): 59

Avg Rating

6.9

out of 10

Schools

3

1 elem, 1 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

895

Student-Teacher Ratio

15.2:1

How this district compares

Ohio rank

#197 of 613

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+0.6

above Ohio avg

Per-pupil spending

$14,704

+$47 vs Ohio median

District size

895 students

Smaller than Ohio median

The short answer

Springfield Local ranks #197 of 613 Ohio districts by overall school rating. Springfield Local's schools with real test data average 6.9/10 across 3 schools. Its top-rated schools are Springfield High School (8.9/10), Springfield Intermediate Middle School (7.1/10), and Springfield Elementary School (4.6/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in Springfield Local

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (3 of 3). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Springfield High School8.9 / 10
2Springfield Intermediate Middle School7.1 / 10
3Springfield Elementary School4.6 / 10

See all 3 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Springfield Local

Springfield Local is a New Middletown, Ohio school district serving 3 schools.The district educates 895 students with a student-teacher ratio of 15.2:1. District-level spending was $14,704 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.9/10, Springfield Local demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Springfield High School, which has a composite score of 8.9/10.

In standardized testing, Springfield Local students show an average math proficiency of 80.4% and ELA proficiency of 83.9%.

The district includes 1 elementary school, 1 middle school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Springfield Local, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency80.4%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency83.9%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Springfield Local with test data.

Schools in Springfield Local

3 schools

District Details

State
Ohio
City
New Middletown
Total Enrollment
895
Teachers (FTE)
59
District spending per student
$14,704NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
12.6%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Springfield Local?

Springfield Local has 3 schools in total — 1 elementary, 1 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Springfield Local?

The average composite rating for Springfield Local is 6.9/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Springfield Local?

Springfield Local's district-level spending was $14,704 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Springfield Local?

The average student-teacher ratio in Springfield Local is 15.2:1.

What is the top-rated school in Springfield Local?

Springfield High School is the highest-rated school in Springfield Local with a composite score of 8.9/10.

What are the test scores in Springfield Local?

Across schools in Springfield Local with test data, the average math proficiency is 80.4% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 83.9%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Springfield Local compare to other districts in Ohio?

Springfield Local has an average school rating of 6.9/10 across 3 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Ohio by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.9/10
Math Proficiency
80.4%
ELA Proficiency
83.9%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Ohio Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.