Skip to main content
3.9avg / 10

Springfield Local School District

School District · Akron, Ohio

Students: 1,799
Teachers (FTE): 93

Avg Rating

3.9

out of 10

Schools

4

1 elem, 1 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

1,799

Student-Teacher Ratio

19.3:1

How this district compares

Ohio rank

#610 of 613

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

-2.3

below Ohio avg

Per-pupil spending

$14,475

$182 vs Ohio median

District size

1,799 students

Typical than Ohio median

The short answer

Springfield Local ranks #610 of 613 Ohio districts by overall school rating. Springfield Local's schools with real test data average 3.9/10 across 3 schools. Its top-rated schools are Springfield Junior/senior High School (5.5/10), Schrop Intermediate School (4.1/10), and Spring Hill Elementary (2.2/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in Springfield Local

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (3 of 4). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Springfield Junior/senior High School5.5 / 10
2Schrop Intermediate School4.1 / 10
3Spring Hill Elementary2.2 / 10

See all 4 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Springfield Local

Springfield Local is a Akron, Ohio school district serving 4 schools.The district educates 1,799 students with a student-teacher ratio of 19.3:1. District-level spending was $14,475 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 3.9/10, Springfield Local has schools with varying levels of academic achievement.

The highest-rated school in the district is Springfield Junior/senior High School, which has a composite score of 5.5/10.

In standardized testing, Springfield Local students show an average math proficiency of 54.5% and ELA proficiency of 58.5%.

The district includes 1 elementary school, 1 middle school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Springfield Local, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency54.5%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency58.5%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Springfield Local with test data.

Schools in Springfield Local

4 schools

District Details

State
Ohio
City
Akron
Total Enrollment
1,799
Teachers (FTE)
93
District spending per student
$14,475NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
15.1%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Springfield Local?

Springfield Local has 4 schools in total — 1 elementary, 1 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Springfield Local?

The average composite rating for Springfield Local is 3.9/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Springfield Local?

Springfield Local's district-level spending was $14,475 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Springfield Local?

The average student-teacher ratio in Springfield Local is 19.3:1.

What is the top-rated school in Springfield Local?

Springfield Junior/senior High School is the highest-rated school in Springfield Local with a composite score of 5.5/10.

What are the test scores in Springfield Local?

Across schools in Springfield Local with test data, the average math proficiency is 54.5% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 58.5%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Springfield Local compare to other districts in Ohio?

Springfield Local has an average school rating of 3.9/10 across 4 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Ohio by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
3.9/10
Math Proficiency
54.5%
ELA Proficiency
58.5%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Ohio Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.