Skip to main content
5.3avg / 10

Tuscarawas Valley Local School District

School District · Zoarville, Ohio

Students: 1,263
Teachers (FTE): 72
Estimated Scores: 33%

Avg Rating

5.3

out of 10

Schools

3

2 elem, 1 high

Enrollment

1,263

Student-Teacher Ratio

17.5:1

How this district compares

Ohio rank

#561 of 613

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

-0.9

below Ohio avg

Per-pupil spending

$12,832

$1,825 vs Ohio median

District size

1,263 students

Typical than Ohio median

Top-Rated Schools in Tuscarawas Valley Local

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (2 of 3). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Tuscarawas Valley Middle-High School6.5 / 10
2Tuscarawas Valley Elementary School4.8 / 10

See all 3 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Tuscarawas Valley Local

Tuscarawas Valley Local is a Zoarville, Ohio school district serving 3 schools.The district educates 1,263 students with a student-teacher ratio of 17.5:1. District-level spending was $12,832 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 5.3/10, Tuscarawas Valley Local demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Tuscarawas Valley Middle-High School, which has a composite score of 6.5/10.

In standardized testing, Tuscarawas Valley Local students show an average math proficiency of 76.2% and ELA proficiency of 76.1%.

The district includes 2 elementary schools, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Tuscarawas Valley Local, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency76.2%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency76.1%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Tuscarawas Valley Local with test data.

District Details

State
Ohio
City
Zoarville
Total Enrollment
1,263
Teachers (FTE)
72
District spending per student
$12,832NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
8.4%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Tuscarawas Valley Local?

Tuscarawas Valley Local has 3 schools in total — 2 elementary, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Tuscarawas Valley Local?

The average composite rating for Tuscarawas Valley Local is 5.3/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Tuscarawas Valley Local?

Tuscarawas Valley Local's district-level spending was $12,832 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Tuscarawas Valley Local?

The average student-teacher ratio in Tuscarawas Valley Local is 17.5:1.

What is the top-rated school in Tuscarawas Valley Local?

Tuscarawas Valley Middle-High School is the highest-rated school in Tuscarawas Valley Local with a composite score of 6.5/10.

What are the test scores in Tuscarawas Valley Local?

Across schools in Tuscarawas Valley Local with test data, the average math proficiency is 76.2% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 76.1%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Tuscarawas Valley Local compare to other districts in Ohio?

Tuscarawas Valley Local has an average school rating of 5.3/10 across 3 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Ohio by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
5.3/10
Math Proficiency
76.2%
ELA Proficiency
76.1%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Ohio Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.