Skip to main content
5.6avg / 10

Union-Scioto Local School District

School District · Chillicothe, Ohio

Students: 2,127
Teachers (FTE): 100

Avg Rating

5.6

out of 10

Schools

3

1 elem, 1 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

2,127

Student-Teacher Ratio

21.3:1

How this district compares

Ohio rank

#512 of 613

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

-0.6

below Ohio avg

Per-pupil spending

$12,955

$1,702 vs Ohio median

District size

2,127 students

Larger than Ohio median

The short answer

Union-Scioto Local ranks #512 of 613 Ohio districts by overall school rating. Union-Scioto Local's schools with real test data average 5.6/10 across 3 schools. Its top-rated schools are Unioto High School (6.1/10), Unioto Middle School (5.9/10), and Unioto Elementary (4.8/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in Union-Scioto Local

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (3 of 3). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Unioto High School6.1 / 10
2Unioto Middle School5.9 / 10
3Unioto Elementary4.8 / 10

See all 3 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Union-Scioto Local

Union-Scioto Local is a Chillicothe, Ohio school district serving 3 schools.The district educates 2,127 students with a student-teacher ratio of 21.3:1. District-level spending was $12,955 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 5.6/10, Union-Scioto Local demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Unioto High School, which has a composite score of 6.1/10.

In standardized testing, Union-Scioto Local students show an average math proficiency of 65.1% and ELA proficiency of 68.7%.

The district includes 1 elementary school, 1 middle school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Union-Scioto Local, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency65.1%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency68.7%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Union-Scioto Local with test data.

Schools in Union-Scioto Local

3 schools

District Details

State
Ohio
City
Chillicothe
Total Enrollment
2,127
Teachers (FTE)
100
District spending per student
$12,955NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
13.9%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Union-Scioto Local?

Union-Scioto Local has 3 schools in total — 1 elementary, 1 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Union-Scioto Local?

The average composite rating for Union-Scioto Local is 5.6/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Union-Scioto Local?

Union-Scioto Local's district-level spending was $12,955 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Union-Scioto Local?

The average student-teacher ratio in Union-Scioto Local is 21.3:1.

What is the top-rated school in Union-Scioto Local?

Unioto High School is the highest-rated school in Union-Scioto Local with a composite score of 6.1/10.

What are the test scores in Union-Scioto Local?

Across schools in Union-Scioto Local with test data, the average math proficiency is 65.1% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 68.7%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Union-Scioto Local compare to other districts in Ohio?

Union-Scioto Local has an average school rating of 5.6/10 across 3 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Ohio by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
5.6/10
Math Proficiency
65.1%
ELA Proficiency
68.7%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Ohio Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.