Skip to main content
4.6avg / 10

Urbana City School District

School District · Urbana, Ohio

Students: 1,838
Teachers (FTE): 111

Avg Rating

4.6

out of 10

Schools

3

1 elem, 1 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

1,838

Student-Teacher Ratio

16.6:1

How this district compares

Ohio rank

#600 of 613

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

-1.6

below Ohio avg

Per-pupil spending

$14,569

$88 vs Ohio median

District size

1,838 students

Larger than Ohio median

The short answer

Urbana City ranks #600 of 613 Ohio districts by overall school rating. Urbana City's schools with real test data average 4.6/10 across 3 schools. Its top-rated schools are Urbana Junior High School (5.9/10), Urbana Elementary School (4.0/10), and Urbana High School (4.0/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in Urbana City

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (3 of 3). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Urbana Junior High School5.9 / 10
2Urbana Elementary School4.0 / 10
3Urbana High School4.0 / 10

See all 3 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Urbana City

Urbana City is a Urbana, Ohio school district serving 3 schools.The district educates 1,838 students with a student-teacher ratio of 16.6:1. District-level spending was $14,569 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 4.6/10, Urbana City demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Urbana Junior High School, which has a composite score of 5.9/10.

In standardized testing, Urbana City students show an average math proficiency of 54.8% and ELA proficiency of 61.2%.

The district includes 1 elementary school, 1 middle school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Urbana City, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency54.8%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency61.2%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Urbana City with test data.

Schools in Urbana City

3 schools

District Details

State
Ohio
City
Urbana
Total Enrollment
1,838
Teachers (FTE)
111
District spending per student
$14,569NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
14.7%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Urbana City?

Urbana City has 3 schools in total — 1 elementary, 1 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Urbana City?

The average composite rating for Urbana City is 4.6/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Urbana City?

Urbana City's district-level spending was $14,569 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Urbana City?

The average student-teacher ratio in Urbana City is 16.6:1.

What is the top-rated school in Urbana City?

Urbana Junior High School is the highest-rated school in Urbana City with a composite score of 5.9/10.

What are the test scores in Urbana City?

Across schools in Urbana City with test data, the average math proficiency is 54.8% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 61.2%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Urbana City compare to other districts in Ohio?

Urbana City has an average school rating of 4.6/10 across 3 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Ohio by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
4.6/10
Math Proficiency
54.8%
ELA Proficiency
61.2%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Ohio Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.