Skip to main content
5.7avg / 10

Washington Local School District

School District · Toledo, Ohio

Students: 6,771
Teachers (FTE): 343

Avg Rating

5.7

out of 10

Schools

10

7 elem, 2 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

6,771

Student-Teacher Ratio

19.7:1

How this district compares

Ohio rank

#504 of 613

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

-0.6

below Ohio avg

Per-pupil spending

$14,277

$380 vs Ohio median

District size

6,771 students

Much larger than Ohio median

The short answer

Washington Local ranks #504 of 613 Ohio districts by overall school rating. Washington Local's schools with real test data average 5.7/10 across 10 schools. Its top-rated schools are Shoreland Elementary School (6.4/10), Meadowvale Elementary School (6.4/10), and Mcgregor Elementary School (6.4/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Best value · beats the odds
Silver Creek Elementary School

Rates 6.3/10 despite 73% of students being economically disadvantaged. That's about 0.9 points higher than its student-poverty level predicts. Roughly as clean a case of strong results without an affluent-ZIP price tag as you'll find among Washington Local schools.

Top-Rated Schools in Washington Local

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (10 of 10). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Shoreland Elementary School6.4 / 10
2Meadowvale Elementary School6.4 / 10
3Mcgregor Elementary School6.4 / 10
4Silver Creek Elementary School6.3 / 10
5Monac Elementary School6.3 / 10
6Whitmer High School5.8 / 10
7Washington Junior High School5.8 / 10
8Jefferson Junior High School5.4 / 10
9Greenwood Elementary School4.6 / 10
10Hiawatha Elementary School3.2 / 10

See all 10 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Washington Local

Washington Local is a Toledo, Ohio school district serving 10 schools.The district educates 6,771 students with a student-teacher ratio of 19.7:1. District-level spending was $14,277 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 5.7/10, Washington Local demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Mcgregor Elementary School, which has a composite score of 6.4/10.

In standardized testing, Washington Local students show an average math proficiency of 54.6% and ELA proficiency of 59.9%.

The district includes 7 elementary schools, 2 middle schools, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Washington Local, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency54.6%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency59.9%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Washington Local with test data.

District Details

State
Ohio
City
Toledo
Total Enrollment
6,771
Teachers (FTE)
343
District spending per student
$14,277NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
17.5%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Washington Local?

Washington Local has 10 schools in total — 7 elementary, 2 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Washington Local?

The average composite rating for Washington Local is 5.7/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Washington Local?

Washington Local's district-level spending was $14,277 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Washington Local?

The average student-teacher ratio in Washington Local is 19.7:1.

What is the top-rated school in Washington Local?

Mcgregor Elementary School is the highest-rated school in Washington Local with a composite score of 6.4/10.

What are the test scores in Washington Local?

Across schools in Washington Local with test data, the average math proficiency is 54.6% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 59.9%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Washington Local compare to other districts in Ohio?

Washington Local has an average school rating of 5.7/10 across 10 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Ohio by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
5.7/10
Math Proficiency
54.6%
ELA Proficiency
59.9%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Ohio Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.