Skip to main content
5.2avg / 10

Washington-Nile Local School District

School District · West Portsmouth, Ohio

Students: 1,227
Teachers (FTE): 85

Avg Rating

5.2

out of 10

Schools

3

1 elem, 1 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

1,227

Student-Teacher Ratio

14.4:1

How this district compares

Ohio rank

#574 of 613

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

-1.1

below Ohio avg

Per-pupil spending

$16,244

+$1,587 vs Ohio median

District size

1,227 students

Typical than Ohio median

The short answer

Washington-Nile Local ranks #574 of 613 Ohio districts by overall school rating. Washington-Nile Local's schools with real test data average 5.2/10 across 3 schools. Its top-rated schools are Portsmouth West High School (7.4/10), Portsmouth West Elementary School (4.5/10), and Portsmouth West Middle School (3.6/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in Washington-Nile Local

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (3 of 3). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Portsmouth West High School7.4 / 10
2Portsmouth West Elementary School4.5 / 10
3Portsmouth West Middle School3.6 / 10

See all 3 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Washington-Nile Local

Washington-Nile Local is a West Portsmouth, Ohio school district serving 3 schools.The district educates 1,227 students with a student-teacher ratio of 14.4:1. District-level spending was $16,244 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 5.2/10, Washington-Nile Local demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Portsmouth West High School, which has a composite score of 7.4/10.

In standardized testing, Washington-Nile Local students show an average math proficiency of 56.2% and ELA proficiency of 62.4%.

The district includes 1 elementary school, 1 middle school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Washington-Nile Local, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency56.2%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency62.4%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Washington-Nile Local with test data.

Schools in Washington-Nile Local

3 schools

District Details

State
Ohio
City
West Portsmouth
Total Enrollment
1,227
Teachers (FTE)
85
District spending per student
$16,244NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
21.7%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Washington-Nile Local?

Washington-Nile Local has 3 schools in total — 1 elementary, 1 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Washington-Nile Local?

The average composite rating for Washington-Nile Local is 5.2/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Washington-Nile Local?

Washington-Nile Local's district-level spending was $16,244 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Washington-Nile Local?

The average student-teacher ratio in Washington-Nile Local is 14.4:1.

What is the top-rated school in Washington-Nile Local?

Portsmouth West High School is the highest-rated school in Washington-Nile Local with a composite score of 7.4/10.

What are the test scores in Washington-Nile Local?

Across schools in Washington-Nile Local with test data, the average math proficiency is 56.2% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 62.4%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Washington-Nile Local compare to other districts in Ohio?

Washington-Nile Local has an average school rating of 5.2/10 across 3 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Ohio by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
5.2/10
Math Proficiency
56.2%
ELA Proficiency
62.4%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Ohio Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.