Skip to main content
5.6avg / 10

Zane Trace Local School District

School District · Chillicothe, Ohio

Students: 1,219
Teachers (FTE): 74

Avg Rating

5.6

out of 10

Schools

3

1 elem, 1 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

1,219

Student-Teacher Ratio

16.5:1

How this district compares

Ohio rank

#513 of 613

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

-0.6

below Ohio avg

Per-pupil spending

$13,719

$938 vs Ohio median

District size

1,219 students

Typical than Ohio median

The short answer

Zane Trace Local ranks #513 of 613 Ohio districts by overall school rating. Zane Trace Local's schools with real test data average 5.6/10 across 3 schools. Its top-rated schools are Zane Trace Middle School (6.4/10), Zane Trace Elementary School (5.4/10), and Zane Trace High School (5.0/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in Zane Trace Local

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (3 of 3). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Zane Trace Middle School6.4 / 10
2Zane Trace Elementary School5.4 / 10
3Zane Trace High School5.0 / 10

See all 3 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Zane Trace Local

Zane Trace Local is a Chillicothe, Ohio school district serving 3 schools.The district educates 1,219 students with a student-teacher ratio of 16.5:1. District-level spending was $13,719 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 5.6/10, Zane Trace Local demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Zane Trace Middle School, which has a composite score of 6.4/10.

In standardized testing, Zane Trace Local students show an average math proficiency of 61.9% and ELA proficiency of 70.6%.

The district includes 1 elementary school, 1 middle school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Zane Trace Local, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency61.9%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency70.6%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Zane Trace Local with test data.

Schools in Zane Trace Local

3 schools

District Details

State
Ohio
City
Chillicothe
Total Enrollment
1,219
Teachers (FTE)
74
District spending per student
$13,719NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
10.2%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Zane Trace Local?

Zane Trace Local has 3 schools in total — 1 elementary, 1 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Zane Trace Local?

The average composite rating for Zane Trace Local is 5.6/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Zane Trace Local?

Zane Trace Local's district-level spending was $13,719 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Zane Trace Local?

The average student-teacher ratio in Zane Trace Local is 16.5:1.

What is the top-rated school in Zane Trace Local?

Zane Trace Middle School is the highest-rated school in Zane Trace Local with a composite score of 6.4/10.

What are the test scores in Zane Trace Local?

Across schools in Zane Trace Local with test data, the average math proficiency is 61.9% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 70.6%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Zane Trace Local compare to other districts in Ohio?

Zane Trace Local has an average school rating of 5.6/10 across 3 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Ohio by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
5.6/10
Math Proficiency
61.9%
ELA Proficiency
70.6%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Ohio Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.