Skip to main content
6.3avg / 10

Franklin Local School District

School District · Duncan Falls, Ohio

Students: 1,799
Teachers (FTE): 129

Avg Rating

6.3

out of 10

Schools

6

2 elem, 1 mid, 2 high

Enrollment

1,799

Student-Teacher Ratio

13.9:1

How this district compares

Ohio rank

#376 of 613

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+0.0

above Ohio avg

Per-pupil spending

$15,150

+$493 vs Ohio median

District size

1,799 students

Typical than Ohio median

The short answer

Franklin Local ranks #376 of 613 Ohio districts by overall school rating. Franklin Local's schools with real test data average 6.3/10 across 5 schools. Its top-rated schools are Roseville Elementary School (8.2/10), Duncan Falls Elementary School (8.0/10), and Philo Junior High School (5.9/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in Franklin Local

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (5 of 6). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Roseville Elementary School8.2 / 10
2Duncan Falls Elementary School8.0 / 10
3Philo Junior High School5.9 / 10
4Philo High School5.5 / 10
5Franklin Local Community School3.7 / 10

See all 6 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Franklin Local

Franklin Local is a Duncan Falls, Ohio school district serving 6 schools.The district educates 1,799 students with a student-teacher ratio of 13.9:1. District-level spending was $15,150 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.3/10, Franklin Local demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Roseville Elementary School, which has a composite score of 8.2/10.

In standardized testing, Franklin Local students show an average math proficiency of 57.9% and ELA proficiency of 60.5%.

The district includes 2 elementary schools, 1 middle school, and 2 high schools.

District Map

Schools in Franklin Local, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency57.9%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency60.5%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Franklin Local with test data.

District Details

State
Ohio
City
Duncan Falls
Total Enrollment
1,799
Teachers (FTE)
129
District spending per student
$15,150NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
13.8%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Franklin Local?

Franklin Local has 6 schools in total — 2 elementary, 1 middle, and 2 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Franklin Local?

The average composite rating for Franklin Local is 6.3/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Franklin Local?

Franklin Local's district-level spending was $15,150 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Franklin Local?

The average student-teacher ratio in Franklin Local is 13.9:1.

What is the top-rated school in Franklin Local?

Roseville Elementary School is the highest-rated school in Franklin Local with a composite score of 8.2/10.

What are the test scores in Franklin Local?

Across schools in Franklin Local with test data, the average math proficiency is 57.9% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 60.5%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Franklin Local compare to other districts in Ohio?

Franklin Local has an average school rating of 6.3/10 across 6 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Ohio by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.3/10
Math Proficiency
57.9%
ELA Proficiency
60.5%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Ohio Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.